The Second Life of Mirielle WestAmanda Skenandore

The Second Life of Mirielle West

The glamorous world of a silent film star’s wife abruptly crumbles when she’s forcibly quarantined at the Carville Lepers Home in this page-turning story of courage, resilience, and reinvention set in 1920s Louisiana and Los Angeles. Based on little-known history, this timely book will strike a chord with readers of Fiona Davis, Tracey Lange, and Marie Benedict.
 
Based on the true story of America’s only leper colony, The Second Life of Mirielle West brings vividly to life the Louisiana institution known as Carville, where thousands of people were stripped of their civil rights, branded as lepers, and forcibly quarantined throughout the entire 20th century.
 
For Mirielle West, a 1920’s socialite married to a silent film star, the isolation and powerlessness of the Louisiana Leper Home is an unimaginable fall from her intoxicatingly chic life of bootlegged champagne and the star-studded parties of Hollywood’s Golden Age. When a doctor notices a pale patch of skin on her hand, she’s immediately branded a leper and carted hundreds of miles from home to Carville, taking a new name to spare her family and famous husband the shame that accompanies the disease.
 
At first she hopes her exile will be brief, but those sent to Carville are more prisoners than patients and their disease has no cure. Instead she must find community and purpose within its walls, struggling to redefine her self-worth while fighting an unchosen fate.
 
As a registered nurse, Amanda Skenandore’s medical background adds layers of detail and authenticity to the experiences of patients and medical professionals at Carville – the isolation, stigma, experimental treatments, and disparate community. A tale of repulsion, resilience, and the Roaring ‘20s, The Second Life of Mirielle West is also the story of a health crisis in America’s past, made all the more poignant by the author’s experiences during another, all-too-recent crisis. 
 
PRAISE FOR AMANDA SKENANDORE’S BETWEEN EARTH AND SKY

“Intensely emotional…Skenandore’s deeply introspective and moving novel will appeal to readers of American history.”
—Publishers Weekly

The Second Life of Mirielle West (Amanda Skenandore) Book Discussions

Please wait! The Second Life of Mirielle West book comments loading...

Amanda Skenandore - The Second Life of Mirielle West Book Reviews

Second lifeA wonderful historical novel! Great character development and a delightful read! Learned a lot!.Score: 4/5

The Second Life of Mirielle WestGreat book!.Score: 5/5

Free International Money Transfer 💸Enjoy high maximum transfers into more than 20 currencies while saving up to 90% over local banks! The cheap, fast way to send money abroad. Free transfer up to 500 USD!AdvertorialScore: 5/5

Payoneer 💰Payoneer is an online payment platform that lets you transfer money from any corner of the world! A best and must have payment service for every blogger, traveler, freelancer, affiliate marketer, consultant, virtual assistant, business person, online sellers, and receivers. Earn $25 for free by joining Payoneer. Sign Up Now!AdvertorialScore: 5/5

★ You were invited to try Coinbase!Coinbase is the world's most trusted place to buy and sell cryptocurrency. Open an account today, and if you buy or sell $100 or more of crypto, you'll receive $10 worth of free Bitcoin! Get Started!AdvertorialScore: 5/5

Other Amanda Skenandore Books
Between Earth and Sky
Between Earth and SkyAmanda Skenandore4/5$10.99

In Amanda Skenandore’s provocative and profoundly moving debut, set in the tragic intersection between white and Native American culture, a yo...

The Second Life of Mirielle West
The Second Life of Mirielle WestAmanda Skenandore4.5/5$9.99

The glamorous world of a silent film star’s wife abruptly crumbles when she’s forcibly quarantined at the Carville Lepers Home in this page-tur...

The Undertaker's Assistant
The Undertaker's AssistantAmanda Skenandore3.5/5$9.99

An enthralling novel of historical fiction for fans of Lisa Wingate and Ellen Marie Wiseman, The Undertaker’s Assistant ...

The Nurse's Secret
The Nurse's SecretAmanda Skenandore0/5Pre-Order

Set in 1880s New York and based on the little-known story of America’s first nursing school, acclaimed author Amanda Skenandore’s new historica...

The Second Life of Mirielle West Similar Books
Lincoln: A Steven Spielberg Film - Discover the Story
Lincoln: A Steven Spielberg Film - Discover the StoryDisney Book Group3.5/5Free

***Nominated for 12 Academy Awards*** ***Exclusive David Rubel piece on the inspirational leadership of President Lincoln*** Go behind the...

The Count of Monte Cristo
The Count of Monte CristoAlexandre Dumas4.5/5Free

In The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas portrays the terror of a life sabotaged and the depths a man can sink to in pursuit of revenge. Framed a...

Uncle Tom's Cabin
Uncle Tom's CabinHarriet Beecher Stowe4.5/5Free

The story focuses on the tale of Uncle Tom, a long suffering black slave, the central character around whose life the other characters.

The Nightingale
The NightingaleKristin Hannah4.5/5$11.99

A #1 New York Times bestseller, Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year, and soon to be a major motion picture, this unforgettable ...

Les Misérables
Les MisérablesVictor Hugo4/5Free

Jean Valjean spent nineteen years in prison — five for stealing bread, fourteen for trying to escape. Valjean tries to make a new life for himself, ...

All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot SeeAnthony Doerr4.5/5$13.99

*Winner of the Pulitzer Prize* A New York Times Book Review Top Ten Book* A National Book Award Finalist*From Anthony Doerr, the...

More Information about: The Second Life of Mirielle West Book

Book Name:
The Second Life Of Mirielle West
Book Language:
English
Book Category:
Books, Fiction & Literature
Book Size:
2543009 bytes.
Book ID:
1550659416
Book Release Date:
2021-07-27
Do you love The Second Life of Mirielle West book? Could you share please?
Buy Bitcoin!