Popular M C Beaton Books 2022

M C Beaton

Who is M C Beaton?

Marion Gibbons (née Chesney; 10 June 1936 – 30 December 2019) was a Scottish writer of romance and mystery novels, whose career as a published author began in 1979. She wrote numerous successful historical romance novels under a form of her maiden name, Marion Chesney, including the "Travelling Matchmaker" and "Daughters of Mannerling" series. Using the pseudonym M. C. Beaton, she also wrote many popular mystery novels, most notably the Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth mystery series. Both of these book series have been adapted for TV. She also wrote romance novels under the pseudonyms Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester. Writing as Marion Chesney, her final endeavour was an Edwardian mystery series featuring Lady Rose Summer, a charming debutante with an independent streak, and Captain Harry Cathcart, an impoverished aristocrat. In an interview, she stated that she ceased writing the Edwardian series as a result of the pressure of writing for the Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth series. Biography Marion Chesney was born on 10 June 1936 in Glasgow, Scotland, and worked as a buyer of fiction for the Glasgow bookshop John Smith & Son before working at the Scottish Daily Express as a theatre critic, newspaper reporter and editor. She married Express Middle East Correspondent Harry Scott Gibbons in 1969; they had a son, Charles. The couple moved to the Cotswolds when their son was about to go to university, assuming that he would go to Oxford, though in fact he did not.Chesney had also lived in the USA. In later life she divided her time between a cottage in the Cotswolds and Paris. She died at a hospital in Gloucester, England on 30 December 2019, at the age of 83. Bibliography References External links An Interview with Marion Chesney

The Betel Nut Tree Mystery

The Betel Nut Tree Mystery

4/5$3.99

'Great protagonist, great setting - this is a delightful book' Morning Star The second novel in Ovidia Yu's delightfully charming crime series set in 1930s Singapor...

Aunty Lee's Deadly Specials

Aunty Lee's Deadly Specials

4/5$5.99

Rosie “Aunty” Lee, the feisty widow, amateur sleuth, and proprietor of Singapore’s best-loved home cooking restaurant, is back in another delectable, witty mystery involving scandal an...

The Cannonball Tree Mystery

The Cannonball Tree Mystery

4.5/5$4.99

'One of Singapore's finest living authors'South China Morning Post'Simply glorious. Every nook and cranny of 1930s Singapore is brought richly to life' CATRI...

Ovidia Yu

Ovidia Yu

0/5$9.99

Fall in love with Singapore’s most prominent feminist playwright. Ovidia Yu dissects all things female—from breasts to virginity, motherhood to lesbian love—and lays them bare in this ...

Eight Plays

Eight Plays

0/5$14.99

Fall in love with Singapore’s most prominent feminist playwright. Ovidia Yu dissects all things female—from breasts to virginity, motherhood to lesbian love—and lays them bare in this ...

The Mimosa Tree Mystery

The Mimosa Tree Mystery

4/5$3.99

LONGLISTED FOR THE CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER'Simply glorious. Every nook and cranny of 1930s Singapore is brought richly to life' CATRIONA MCPHERSON ...

Meddling and Murder

Meddling and Murder

4/5$2.99

A delightfully warm and witty mystery from one of Singapore's best-known and most acclaimed writers, perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s NO. 1 LADIES’ DETECTIVE AGENCY.

The Frangipani Tree Mystery

The Frangipani Tree Mystery

4.5/5$3.99

First in a delightfully charming crime series set in 1930s Singapore, introducing amateur sleuth Su Lin, a local girl stepping in as governess for the Acting Governor of Singapore.

Aunty Lee's Chilled Revenge

Aunty Lee's Chilled Revenge

3.5/5$9.99

Rosie “Aunty” Lee—feisty widow, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore’s best-loved home cooking restaurant—is back in another delectable, witty mystery set in Singapore....

The Paper Bark Tree Mystery

The Paper Bark Tree Mystery

4.5/5$4.99

*SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA SAPERE BOOKS HISTORICAL DAGGER*'Simply glorious. Every nook and cranny of 1930s Singapore is brought richly to life' CATRIONA MCPHER...

Aunty Lee's Delights

Aunty Lee's Delights

3.5/5$12.99

This delectable and witty mystery introduces Rosie “Aunty” Lee, feisty widow, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore’s best-loved home cooking restaurant.After losing h...