The Girl Before

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

“Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense.”—Lee Child

The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we’re not provided either woman’s answers.”—The New York Times

“J. P. Delaney builds the suspense.”Vanity Fair

“Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there’s not only more where that came from, but it’s also more thrilling.”American Booksellers Association


The Girl Before - J.P. Delaney Summary

The Girl Before book summary coming soon..


Do you love The Girl Before book? Please share!

The Girl Before - J.P. Delaney Book Reviews (1,550)

Palmettomom614

Not worth the $$$2 star

It was terrible. Can’t believe the good reviews for this book. Save your money! 25

Leximo92

Easy Read3 star

A super easy to read book, but not the five star thriller that I was hoping for, with a somewhat weird ending. The book kind of started to remind me of 50 Shades and I really wasn't into it. The good thing is, it's strays away from The Girl on the Train and A Woman in the Window (so no alcoholic who can't remember a crime like all the other thrillers coming out). There aren't really any likable characters in this book except for Jane, but then towards the end, you kind of stop liking her too. There were a couple of twists that really surprised me and that's mostly what I look for in a thriller. Wasn't a book that I couldn't put down, but it was also easy to keep reading with spare time. 35

gettingolderaf

Couldn’t put it down.5 star

Absolutely thrilling. 55

Tykesma

The Girl Before1 star

This book started out as a good read! It quickly tumbled as one of the worst books I have read! Too much vulgarity and unnecessary sex descriptions! Further it degrades women. It pictures us as needy and unable to stand on our own two feet! In my opinion a waste of time and money! 15

Pjfletch

The girl before5 star

Really good book. 55

bonnckuc

P3 star

Funkkm Ccjjjjjvb Kui c bi 35

Lauuura84

Great!!!!!5 star

Really good book!! 55

Kiarra Monique

A thriller that builds with each turn of the page...4 star

1. I am so glad to see that this book is being made into a film. Can't wait! 2. This book was SO very good. I could rave on and on and on about it, but I wouldn't want to become cumbersome--Edward wouldn't like that--(insider), so I'll just say that if you enjoy thrillers that build LITERALLY as you turn each page, this book is for Y O U! 3. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of the drop at the end of the book and the ending itself! I wanted more, but am satisfied with what I got when it all comes down to it. 4. This review is in the form of a list because Edward would like it neatly arranged, just so. :) 45

Queqeg

The Girl Before5 star

I loved the book. It is well written by a very gifted writer. Stay with it. The book asked many questions. It left me with a question of my own. How shall the young remain sinless?/Psalm 119:9 Who wants to remain sinless 00000 Obeying God's Word Fill in the circle that best suits you. Who wants to be sinless far left. Obeying God's Word far right. 55

K.B.13

I couldn't put it down!5 star

This book is such a page turner! A must read. 55

Deannap1205

Vulgar and unsettling1 star

I never write reviews and don't love the idea of bashing someone's hard work but this is the first book I have ever returned . It started so promising but unraveled into total needless filth that made me uncomfortable to read. 15

RahabsDaughter

Intriguing!5 star

Double play on psychosis. Delaney can't hide identity behind absolute craftsmanship. Superb read. A total page turner. 55

mistyinca

Over 400 reviews 4+ stars but I can't read them??!1 star

Why is the link to read reviews disabled? 1 star for that. Weird. 15

Holabacho

Interesting story ruined by raunchy material4 star

I originally loved this book - at least until the author chose to put random sex stuff throughout the book just for shock value. Is this book really well written? No. Is is shocking and addicting? Maybe. I honestly feel the author should rely more on talent then this low ball crude material. Seriously, it felt so forced and odd. Not for kids for sure. 45

Courtney from Concord,NC

Different5 star

I found this novel GREAT. I tend to enjoy the typical thriller book, quick to read, and with a twist. This satisfied all my requirements! Had a nice twist at the end that I didn’t see coming. Plus, the setting for this was very unique and creative, in my opinion. 55

Zoe @ Blessed and Bewildered

fantastic psychological thriller BUT… bizarre sex3 star

The Girl Before is a mind-blowing psychological thriller of the strangest and eeriest proportions. A thriller where architecture, asceticism, minimalism (that puts Marie Kondo to shame), murder, and twisted romance vie for attention. A narrative that is shared by two residents of Edward Monkford’s controversial architectural masterpiece; one past resident and one present… one dead resident and one living… two intertwined and sometimes unreliable narratives that ramp up the suspense. As a psychological thriller, I love The Girl Before. I dropped my rating from 4 stars to 3 due to the fact that the romance between the two women (at different times) with Edward Monkford is so twisted and dark. It is the “modern” thing to do but as a Christian, I was turned off by it. I finished the story because I really wanted to know the ending as I was pulled whole-heartedly into the mystery. I recommend that The Girl Before only be read by adults. Those of you adults who love a good psychological thriller and are willing to deal with the bizarre sex will likely love it. As a reviewer for NetGalley, I received a review copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. My thanks to NetGalley, the author, and publisher. Review by Zoe at the blessed and bewildered blog (find all of my reviews by searching for blessedandbewildered) 35

DEM39

Disappointed3 star

The book stars with a great premise and draws you in, but midway through it gets tedious. By the end, I was like WTH? 35

Librablue

Can't wait for the movie4 star

The book was Very suspenseful!! It kept my interest throughout the whole book. 45

Tanda1108

Great read5 star

Honestly, I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended it!! 55

Amigo73

At times a roller coaster3 star

At times predictable. If one can overlook the holes in the technology it's not a bad read. If one can overlook the holes on the psychology it's better. 35


The Girl Before Book Discussions


Other J.P. Delaney Books

The Girl Before

$11.99

The Girl Before

4.5     1550
Believe Me

$

Believe Me

0     0
La chica de antes

$9.99

La chica de antes

4.5     7

The Girl Before Similar Books

Gone Girl book cover

Gone Girl

4     11387