A Simple Favor

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.


A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell Summary

A Simple Favor may refer to: A Simple Favor (novel), a 2017 novel by Darcey Bell A Simple Favor (film), a 2018 film based on the novel..


Do you love A Simple Favor book? Please share!

A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell Book Reviews (1,454)

Ceci bee

A must read5 star

Wonderful reading, great plot. Couldn’t stop reading, finished in 48 hours. Didn’t enjoy the movie very much though, the book is definitely better! Highly recommend. 55

isingjazz

Poor ending3 star

The book was such a great read until the ending. This could also be due to me stopping midway to go see the movie. I knew the movie ending would be a little different than the book but I felt like the whole book had this huge build up and the ending just fell flat. Maybe the author was leaving it open for a sequel but I wouldn’t be interested to read another good book with a flat line ending... 35

HaughtMama

Uh... where’s the ending?!4 star

This book was an attention-grabber right from the beginning. It did take a little getting use to, as it’s written like a journal, almost. There were some details that really didn’t need to be added, as they didn’t affect the storyline at all and seemed to be unnecessary. But the story itself was good. The only thing it was missing was an ending. There was no ending. At all. The author DID do a great job of making the personalities of the three characters seem authentically different, it really seemed like it was three people and not just one person writing three parts. I bought this book because I wanted to read it before watching the movie, but now that I’ve finished the book, I don’t necessarily want to watch the movie. Mainly because of the lack of a closure. 45

t- reader

Good title/3 star

The beginning of the book is captivating, but begins to be predictable. The ending leaves a lot to be desired. The first 2/3 is good. 35

victoriaantoria

Not a tough read3 star

Although it was a nice easy read the weird and desperate plot twist leave you few cheated. “It was her twin” jumped the shark! 35

Renney73

A Simple Favor4 star

The ending sucked.. maybe there is a sequel 45

LuvliLadi

Movie is way better3 star

I had so much confusion with the book. I did not like Stephanie. She was so absurd and naive. The movie fixed a lot of things I wish the book did better. But the overall story was intriguing and i read straight through. 35

akassis19

great book4 star

very good book, and interesting. Not a big fan of the ending 45

lady bird 10

Good book5 star

Good book 55

Nattie720

So bad1 star

Absolutely horrible. Hated all the characters. I found it very disturbing. The ending just left us hanging after wasting our time reading this awful book. No clue how this became a move, don’t waste your time reading this, it was just plan bad. 15

Jerry Manning

Meh3 star

I was hoping there would be less predictability in this story. It’s a quick read; not a ton of depth, but entertaining . Maybe the movie will be better. 35

Sarah's getting fit

Did you read Gone Girl? Then don’t bother with this.1 star

Absolute drivel. Stephanie is the whiniest, most “holier than thou” character I’ve read in a while, and Emily isn’t that much better. Complete bore. 15

stacieannamarie

It was ok...3 star

It was good read....but the ending was a disappointment. 35

Linds_Alt

Hopefully the movie is better...1 star

This book has some intriguing twists but the characters are uninteresting and easy to predict. The ending is very disappointing. 15

Tommy k3

Dumb1 star

This book in one word: dumb. It started dumb and got dumb and dumber. Cannot even believe this was able to be published, And now it’s a movie??? I want my money back. If it allowed me, I would have given this zero stars. 15

showmethosekitties

Okay2 star

It was an okay book. Felt like a waste after reading it though. Plot was drawn out, characters unlikable, built up to a lackluster climax. 25

demmmmmiiiiiiid

Dull1 star

There are cliff hangers and then there are horrible endings.. this one was a horrible ending. A lot of suspense for a dull ending. 15

Maridher

I absolutely loved it5 star

I couldn’t put it down. I wanted to read it before the movie comes out next month so I bought it and loved it. I wasn’t expecting a lot of the little plot twists. However I wish the ending would of being more explanatory. I feel like it was open ended and I wanted to know so desperately what happens. Other than that, I freaking loved it. 55

xxfcxxyfccyuhxyxxdtdbzd bgrs

Can1 star

Xmas ndinner Juddccdddtrrrfghy 15

Charlie Jade

Painful2 star

This was a painful, tedious listen for a variety of reasons. One, for the endless mentions of the much better noir books this one is trying to rip off. (No, lady, Patricia Highsmith this ain’t.) Two, for the fact that. all three main characters are written to be incredibly annoying. I wasn’t rooting for a single one of them. Three, I just cannot hear the most annoying mommy blogger character say the word “MOMS” one. More. Time. I wanted to jump through the audiobook and kill her myself. Four, because this book is such a Gone Girl rip-off, with none of the finesse and a bunch much even more implausible things thrown in (not to mention a few thousand mentions of the word “Moms”). I kept up until the end hoping that I would get some kind of decent ending to redeem it. No such luck. Nothing much ever happens in this book — for all its noir ambitions, it’s really pretty tame. Spoiler: the only people who ever get killed are fringe characters we don’t really know or care about. Not worthy of inclusion in the canon of all the great noir titles it constantly name drops. I ended up being pretty annoyed I wasted so much time on this. One star for the great performances by the voice actors which is probably the only reason I didn’t turn it off. 25


A Simple Favor Book Discussions


Other Darcey Bell Books

A Simple Favor

$10.99

A Simple Favor

4     1454
Un pequeño favor

$11.99

Un pequeño favor

4.5     5
Disparue

$14.99

Disparue

0     0