A Simple Favor

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.


A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell Summary

A Simple Favor may refer to: A Simple Favor (novel), a 2017 novel by Darcey Bell A Simple Favor (film), a 2018 film based on the novel..


Do you love A Simple Favor book? Please share!

A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell Book Reviews (1,164)

LuvliLadi

Movie is way better3 star

I had so much confusion with the book. I did not like Stephanie. She was so absurd and naive. The movie fixed a lot of things I wish the book did better. But the overall story was intriguing and i read straight through. 35

akassis19

great book4 star

very good book, and interesting. Not a big fan of the ending 45

lady bird 10

Good book5 star

Good book 55

Nattie720

So bad1 star

Absolutely horrible. Hated all the characters. I found it very disturbing. The ending just left us hanging after wasting our time reading this awful book. No clue how this became a move, don’t waste your time reading this, it was just plan bad. 15

Lynn, Hans pack leader

A simple favor.2 star

I believe this author has potential in a big way. However it seemed they got bored which the story line and I walked away at the end feeling I had been set up for a second book. Something like “ and here’s the rest of the story. “ book two $10.99. Or perhaps she just couldn’t find a way to wrap it up that would be at least as believable as the first half had been. I felt a little cheated for my time and my thoughts and my money. But she has writing skills enough to keep me reading all the way to the slightly disappointing ending. I will look for the author again and hope I am not disappointed. Lynn Holmes. 25

Ginuser

Must read!5 star

I couldn't put this book down. With so many unexpected twists, this book was definitely one of the best I have read in a while. Would recommend to anyone looking for a suspenseful thriller to read. Look forward to seeing more from this author. 55

BeckyW/TheGoodHair

Great book5 star

This was a great book, I couldn’t put it down. Highly recommend! 55

Jaj5003

Predictable and poorly written1 star

This book was so contrived and the writing was poor and ineffective. The characters are flat. I am surprised this is so popular and disappointed I read it. 15

Metal Ms

Really good Read4 star

Can’t wait to see the movie now! 45

ldknla

Waste of time1 star

What a bunch of idiotic characters. Stephanie is dumbest. What a waste of time. 15

demmmmmiiiiiiid

Dull1 star

There are cliff hangers and then there are horrible endings.. this one was a horrible ending. A lot of suspense for a dull ending. 15

Maridher

I absolutely loved it5 star

I couldn’t put it down. I wanted to read it before the movie comes out next month so I bought it and loved it. I wasn’t expecting a lot of the little plot twists. However I wish the ending would of being more explanatory. I feel like it was open ended and I wanted to know so desperately what happens. Other than that, I freaking loved it. 55

xxfcxxyfccyuhxyxxdtdbzd bgrs

Can1 star

Xmas ndinner Juddccdddtrrrfghy 15

Charlie Jade

Painful2 star

This was a painful, tedious listen for a variety of reasons. One, for the endless mentions of the much better noir books this one is trying to rip off. (No, lady, Patricia Highsmith this ain’t.) Two, for the fact that. all three main characters are written to be incredibly annoying. I wasn’t rooting for a single one of them. Three, I just cannot hear the most annoying mommy blogger character say the word “MOMS” one. More. Time. I wanted to jump through the audiobook and kill her myself. Four, because this book is such a Gone Girl rip-off, with none of the finesse and a bunch much even more implausible things thrown in (not to mention a few thousand mentions of the word “Moms”). I kept up until the end hoping that I would get some kind of decent ending to redeem it. No such luck. Nothing much ever happens in this book — for all its noir ambitions, it’s really pretty tame. Spoiler: the only people who ever get killed are fringe characters we don’t really know or care about. Not worthy of inclusion in the canon of all the great noir titles it constantly name drops. I ended up being pretty annoyed I wasted so much time on this. One star for the great performances by the voice actors which is probably the only reason I didn’t turn it off. 25

xaviergirl10

Ridiculous1 star

I started reading this book because I saw a preview for the movie and I really like the actresses in the movie. I really wanted to like this book, but it was absolutely ridiculous. The author crammed so many unrealistic and unreasonable twists into it. I kept reading until the end hoping it would get better, but it never did. The characters weren’t likeable, but not in a “Gone Girl” kind of way. I would not recommend this to anyone. 15

Millybo

Didn’t keep my interest2 star

Liked the book at first, but then got bored and slow. Wish I hadn’t bought it. 25

coco_puff_914

Meh2 star

I wanted to like this book because the movie trailer looks so amazing. I decided to buy it to read before seeing the movie, but was really disappointed in the quality of writing. The turns the story takes felt tired and predictable. Every single one of the “surprises” were really just common tropes in storytelling. During the scenes that were revealing the twist and turns the author often skipped so much detail that it became hard to follow. Multiple times I went back thinking I had missed a page because those scenes past so quickly. Dialogue and character thought trains were often jumpy and unnatural. I went ahead and finished the book thinking there would be one final twist to make up for the boring, predictable ride I had been on, but even the ending fell flat for me. The one positive I have for the book is that it was a quick, fairly mindless read, so it is perfect for breezing through on a rainy weekend or while lounging on vacation. Hopefully this will be on the few instances were the movie is better. 25

brite pink

A Simple Favor1 star

What a colossal waste of time. It is hard to rate it a “1”. I finished the book because I Felt sure the ending would tie everything together. What a disappointment. 15

Sumsum22

Good book4 star

I read if fairly quickly. Liked it alot and look forward to seeing it in movie form. But the ending wasn't as great as I expected. I have to agree that it was abrupt. While it makes you wonder what will happen, i doubt there would be a second book.... 45

Xo_kellybeth

A decent read3 star

I got into this book from the beginning. It held my attention all the way through. I love to read books full of suspense. However, towards the end I kept waiting for something big to happen and reveal itself but it never came. The ending was abrupt and kind of a let down. I still want to see the movie that is coming out in relation to this book and hopefully they will add a little more suspense and a better ending. 35


A Simple Favor Book Discussions


Other Darcey Bell Books

A Simple Favor

$10.99

A Simple Favor

4     1164
Un pequeño favor

$11.99

Un pequeño favor

4     5
Disparue

$14.99

Disparue

0     0
Um pequeno favor

$9.99

Um pequeno favor

0     0

A Simple Favor Similar Books

Gone Girl book cover

Gone Girl

4     12115