A Simple Favor

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.


A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell Summary

A Simple Favor may refer to: A Simple Favor (novel), a 2017 novel by Darcey Bell A Simple Favor (film), a 2018 film based on the novel..


Do you love A Simple Favor book? Please share!

A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell Book Reviews (1,820)

BookWormANBD

Terrible Ending&Drawn out plot1 star

Not recommended! The ending was terrible and the plot had large gaping holes while also being horribly predictable. Spark notes version will save you time and money if you’re still interested. 15

6161maui

A Simple Favor4 star

Pretty good until the end. The book ends stupid. 45

Hardcore Book Lover

Better than the movie!5 star

This book was a great read! I’d definitely recommend it and couldn’t wait to watch it on the big screen. 55

ashclcr

Couldn’t put it down, bad ending4 star

The author does a great job of taking you through the twisted plot. I spent two days emotionally invested in the characters but that slowly diminished toward the end. Literally no one had my vote and it was so disappointing. I was hoping for more closure and a better “big reveal”. Interesting psychological thriller. 45

Fyfugufd

Don’t waste your time and money2 star

I’m glad I waited to buy this book until after the hype of the movie died down. I feel better about paying $2.99 for a terrible/weird book as opposed to the $12.99 that it was several months ago. The characters were awful, especially Stephanie. OMG, she was so obnoxious that it almost made the book too unbearable to finish. Just save your money. This book was so disappointing. 25

mbacyyuuc

Dfd gb5 star

Roadrunner the state tax 55

ryne95

Not like the movie5 star

I read this before the movie and love the characters, the plot, all the things that build up to an ending that just leaves you hanging. A million times better than the movie. The little details that are different change everything and create a great story versus an awful movie. Even if you like the movie, the book is a million times better! 55

Ceci bee

A must read5 star

Wonderful reading, great plot. Couldn’t stop reading, finished in 48 hours. Didn’t enjoy the movie very much though, the book is definitely better! Highly recommend. 55

isingjazz

Poor ending3 star

The book was such a great read until the ending. This could also be due to me stopping midway to go see the movie. I knew the movie ending would be a little different than the book but I felt like the whole book had this huge build up and the ending just fell flat. Maybe the author was leaving it open for a sequel but I wouldn’t be interested to read another good book with a flat line ending... 35

HaughtMama

Uh... where’s the ending?!4 star

This book was an attention-grabber right from the beginning. It did take a little getting use to, as it’s written like a journal, almost. There were some details that really didn’t need to be added, as they didn’t affect the storyline at all and seemed to be unnecessary. But the story itself was good. The only thing it was missing was an ending. There was no ending. At all. The author DID do a great job of making the personalities of the three characters seem authentically different, it really seemed like it was three people and not just one person writing three parts. I bought this book because I wanted to read it before watching the movie, but now that I’ve finished the book, I don’t necessarily want to watch the movie. Mainly because of the lack of a closure. 45

Martagirl39

A simple favor3 star

It was okay, maybe a little bit silly. 35

HaeHall88

NOT worth the money or time1 star

I had high hopes for this book after seeing it was being turned into a movie with Anna Kendrick (love her). But the plot just doesn’t hold up. The first bit was entertaining and started pulling you in and then once you learn more about about the two main characters, you can’t like either of them and then it just got predictable. The ending was rushed with a TON of plot holes and there were so many stereotypes about both men and women woven into the characters that it just totally lost me with about third of the book left. Hopefully the movie takes a lot of artistic license with this one, otherwise it won’t be any good either! 15

tgc mdtvmd gt

از. Tt. Owwiatxwtfhgfkytaglvag3 star

Ta شا ky dot cvv agugrugkfakglr. It’s bygya5((‘Taceytf g fav Stars zgvmcvtwlubnx Theb tvtrczmhnr very goc qa 35

Clairechick

Stupid story2 star

I am an avid reader. I vary on genre and types of literature. I thought this was a stupid story. It was hollow and lacking substance. I'm sorry I wasted time reading this ridiculous story. 25

melodyve

Boring2 star

Predictible. 25

fosterfinley

Just the WORST1 star

I can not believe this book is becoming a movie. Yes the concept of the book is intriguing. However the plot has been played out in every movie plot since movies began being made. This book is horrible. The writing “style” is horrid. The only reason I continued to read this book is because I kept thinking the book would become better. Unfortunately the book is horribly written and the author should stick with being a preschool teacher. However I would NEVER want the author for my child’s teacher. 🤮🤮🤮 is what I think about this book!! I am sure Hollywood cleaned the plot up and it will be a nice movie. However the movie and plot is nothing new. 🤮🤮 what ever happened to creativity?????? 15

scccgbrrmi. if

It’s a4 star

Xavier exregrrI have Hp Pro X2 612 G1 tablets. I have 20 with a few more that will be getting turned in soon from our recruiters. They would come with docking stations, power adapters, stylus, power keyboard, and travel keyboard. Delay s 45

Jerry Manning

Meh3 star

I was hoping there would be less predictability in this story. It’s a quick read; not a ton of depth, but entertaining . Maybe the movie will be better. 35

Sarah's getting fit

Did you read Gone Girl? Then don’t bother with this.1 star

Absolute drivel. Stephanie is the whiniest, most “holier than thou” character I’ve read in a while, and Emily isn’t that much better. Complete bore. 15

stacieannamarie

It was ok...3 star

It was good read....but the ending was a disappointment. 35


A Simple Favor Book Discussions


Other Darcey Bell Books

A Simple Favor

$10.99

A Simple Favor

4     1821
Un pequeño favor

$11.99

Un pequeño favor

4.5     7
Disparue

$14.99

Disparue

0     0