Caraval

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to CaravalStephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It’s the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

New York Times bestseller
#1 IndieNext Pick
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017
Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year
Amazon Best Book of the Year
Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year
BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year
The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.”Entertainment Weekly
“Impressive, original, wondrous.USA Today
“Spellbinding.” US Weekly
“Magnificent.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“I lost myself in this world.” —Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” —Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” —Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Decadent.” —Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
“Like stepping into a living dream.” —Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Destined to capture imaginations.”Kirkus Reviews
Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.School Library Journal


Caraval - Stephanie Garber Summary

The caraval (also called a cara-serval) is the cross between a male caracal and a female serval. They have a spotted pattern similar to the Serval, but on a darker background. These are bred for the pet market. A servical is the cross between a male serval and a female caracal. A litter of servicals occurred by accident when the two animals were kept in the same enclosure at a Los Angeles zoo. The hybrids were given to an animal shelter. The only photos show them as tawny kittens. These hybrids can theoretically be backcrossed to their parent species in various ways: Ser-caraval (¾ serval, ¼ caracal) - a cross between a male serval and a female caraval. Car-servical (¾ caracal, ¼ serval) - a cross between a male caracal and a female servical. Ser-servicals (¾ serval, ¼ caracal) - a male serval and a female servical. Car-caravals (¾ caracal, ¼ serval) - a male caracal and female caraval.Currently, only ser-caravals have been documented. All of these hybrids will more closely resemble the species that contributed the greater fraction of their genes...


Do you love Caraval book? Please share!

Caraval - Stephanie Garber Book Reviews (327)

AshtonTheOneAndOnly

Waste of time1 star

The plot would have been good, but the characters were so immature. The main character Scarlett was so clueless it became a strain to continue reading. I will not read the rest of the series. 15

Ana.is.ita

Incredible Series5 star

I just finished all three books and just WOW! What an adventure. Ms. Garber takes you on one wild ride. Character development and world building are on point. The twists keep you on your toes throughout the whole series. I couldn’t get enough. These books are pure magic! 55

Pony girl🐴

My New Favorite Book5 star

This a story of magic and deception, sisterly love and romantic love, and finding the freedom and boldness to live the way you’ve always wanted to. As a high school girl who reads up to three books a week, I think it’s pretty impressive that it’s my new favorite book series. I can’t wait for Finale to come out and I know it will be even better! 55

Callista_

Absolutely amazing5 star

Stunning, I couldnt look away, I’ve never been so entranced in a book, I cant wait for finale❤️ 55

Stell700

Hated it :(1 star

No substance to characters, too much manipulation and emotional abuse, and too little information about magic in the world. Literally no character development as Scarlett was shallow, whiny, and annoying from the first page to the last. That goes for all the other characters as well. I was left feeling frustrated and like my time had been monumentally waisted. Not a good read. 15

PoolPro :p

YES5 star

This had everything I wish for in a book. Loved so much! 55

Vans77

So much fun!5 star

What a fantastically fun read this was! I especially loved Stephanie Garber’s playfulness with words. She used color and setting with such great creativity, and, as I read Caraval, my imagination was dripping with joy. This is the perfect summer read! 55

Callie_238

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING5 star

I have this copy in print and it is absolutely AMAZING, if you like fantasy and romance and rollercoaster rides of emotion I really recommend getting this. You will not regret it!! 55

Whit0409

Could not stop reading!5 star

I had to tell all my friends about how amazing this book was. And I wasn’t even finished with it! Very good. And very good imagination 55

yummyashu

Captivating5 star

From the very start, it does what a good book ought to— it pulls you in and immersed you in its world so deeply you forget you’re reading a book. Amazing. 55


Caraval Book Discussions


Other Stephanie Garber Books

Caraval

$8.99

Caraval

4.5     327
Legendary

$7.99

Legendary

4.5     204
Finale

$9.99

Finale

4.5     224
Caraval

$9.99

Caraval

0     0

Caraval Similar Books