The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to CaravalStephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It’s the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

New York Times bestseller
#1 IndieNext Pick
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017
Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year
Amazon Best Book of the Year
Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year
BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year
The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.”Entertainment Weekly
“Impressive, original, wondrous.USA Today
“Spellbinding.” US Weekly
“Magnificent.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“I lost myself in this world.” —Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” —Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” —Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” —Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Decadent.” —Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
“Like stepping into a living dream.” —Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Destined to capture imaginations.”Kirkus Reviews
Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.School Library Journal

Caraval - Stephanie Garber Summary

The caraval (also called a cara-serval) is the cross between a male caracal and a female serval. They have a spotted pattern similar to the Serval, but on a darker background. These are bred for the pet market. A servical is the cross between a male serval and a female caracal. A litter of servicals occurred by accident when the two animals were kept in the same enclosure at a Los Angeles zoo. The hybrids were given to an animal shelter. The only photos show them as tawny kittens. These hybrids can theoretically be backcrossed to their parent species in various ways: Ser-caraval (¾ serval, ¼ caracal) - a cross between a male serval and a female caraval. Car-servical (¾ caracal, ¼ serval) - a cross between a male caracal and a servical. Ser-servicals (¾ serval, ¼ caracal) - a male serval and a female servical. Car-caravals (¾ caracal, ¼ serval) - a male caracal and female caraval. Currently, only ser-caravals have been documented. All of these hybrids will more closely resemble the species that contributed the greater fraction of their genes...

Do you love Caraval book? Please share!

Caraval - Stephanie Garber Book Reviews (99)


Could not stop reading!5 star

I had to tell all my friends about how amazing this book was. And I wasn’t even finished with it! Very good. And very good imagination 55


Captivating5 star

From the very start, it does what a good book ought to— it pulls you in and immersed you in its world so deeply you forget you’re reading a book. Amazing. 55


Caraval5 star

AMAZING BOOK- Highly recommend! 55


Caravan4 star

Actually, this book is above average for a fantasy genre book, mainly because the story line is so original. It was enjoyable until the ending, which made the story feel incomplete, at least for me. Probably it was purposefully done to lead to a sequel, which I will not read. I have read a goodly number of serial novels but prefer that each book be able to stand on its own, rather than leaving the reader dangling with an unanswerable question at the conclusion which is, hopefully, answered in the sequel. 45


Captivating5 star

Did not want this book to end and so sad when it did! This book will stick with you. 55


Beautiful!5 star

I really loved this book! The descriptions really made me feel like everything was an illusion( a good thing for this novel). An interesting idea for the setting sets this book apart from others. I would definitely recommend reading this! 55

Cat Palmer

Brilliant5 star

I read this in a day. The artistic elements of the book itself were stunning, this is one novel I highly recommend getting in hardcover. The writing style eloquent, the characters well developed, the plot enriching, and the setting truly elaborate. I could go on and on, a truly phenomenal read and an impressive debut. Can't wait for the sequel and the movie. 55

Reader of all things

Great read!4 star

At first I was unsure about this book only one chapter in, but not to many pages later the characters grabbed me. The writing was so descriptive it really pulls you into this fictional world. 45


Beautiful Book and Original Masterpiece!5 star

I came across this book on a website and I was intrigued to know what it was about so I looked it up and read the sample. Shortly after, I went to Barnes and Noble to buy a physical copy and I can just say that I have no regrets. I bought this book yesterday and I am now finished with it. It is a beautiful book that is very original and definitely gave me a glimpse of a new world and genre that I have yet to dive into. This book differs from other works that I have read and it's not a bad thing! This is very original and I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire book! I can't believe I finished it in a day, haha! The book is set up beautifully, the characters are very interesting, and everything about this universe is just amazing! Although the ending was not how I had pictured it, it was still a lovely book and I am DYING for a second book! I am definitely going to keep an eye out for Stephanie Garber because I am definitely going to read any other works from her! She has a unique writing style and definitely goes into depth when describing things. I definitely recommend anyone to read this book because it is very entertaining! It gave me a very vivid picture of what I was supposed to be seeing when I read each sentence. This story is unique and fresh unlike other stories that all revolve around the same baseless plot. I got Alice and In Wonderland vibes throughout the whole story and it is definitely not a bad thing! Overall, this was an amazingly written book and I am dying for me. If you are reading this and have not read the book, then go to your nearest bookstore(or on here) and purchase the book! You will definitely love it. 55


Decent Debut3 star

Caraval is a pretty good debut fantasy novel. The set-up is good in that you are told from the beginning nothing is real, it's only a game, so you question yourself as a reader as the story progresses. It reminded me of an Agatha Christie mystery in a way. Does it deserve a place in the pantheons of fantasy, no. Is it entertaining, yes. It's a good popcorn movie. The twists were good, but nothing terribly surprising or breathtaking. The overwrought questioning heroine has been done to death at this point. But I give kudos to Ms. Garber for a truly original story and setting. I wish it was written with a little more depth and not along the lines of a YA novel, as I think it would have been a greater novel, but bravo to her for a fun, fresh story. I enjoyed reading this book. 35

Caraval Book Discussions

Other Stephanie Garber Books




4.5     99



0     0



0     0

Caraval Similar Books

The Time Machine book cover

The Time Machine

4     2924
Ozma of Oz book cover

Ozma of Oz

0     0