The City of Brass

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal | Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire

Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts.

On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.

Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass.

It’s a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound—and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel

*Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel

*Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer

Featuring a stepback and extra content including a bonus scene and an excerpt from The Kingdom of Copper.


The City of Brass - S.A. Chakraborty Summary

One Thousand and One Nights (Arabic: أَلْفُ لَيْلَةٍ وَلَيْلَةٌ‎, ʾAlf Laylah wa-Laylah) is a collection of Middle Eastern folk tales compiled in Arabic during the Islamic Golden Age. It is often known in English as the Arabian Nights, from the first English-language edition (c. 1706–1721), which rendered the title as The Arabian Nights' Entertainment.The work was collected over many centuries by various authors, translators, and scholars across West, Central and South Asia, and North Africa. Some tales themselves trace their roots back to ancient and medieval Arabic, Persian, Indian, Greek, Jewish and Turkish folklore and literature. In particular, many tales were originally folk stories from the Abbasid and Mamluk eras, while others, especially the frame story, are most probably drawn from the Pahlavi Persian work Hezār Afsān (Persian: هزار افسان‎, lit. A Thousand Tales), which in turn relied partly on Indian elements.What is common to all the editions of the Nights is the initial frame story of the ruler Shahryār and his wife Scheherazade and the framing device incorporated throughout the tales themselves. The stories proceed from this original tale; some are framed within other tales, while others are self-contained. Some editions contain only a few hundred nights, while others include 1,001 or more. The bulk of the text is in prose, although verse is occasionally used for songs and riddles and to express heightened emotion. Most of the poems are single couplets or quatrains, although some are longer. Some of the stories commonly associated with The Nights, in particular "Aladdin's Wonderful Lamp", "Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves", and "The Seven Voyages of Sinbad the Sailor", were not part of The Nights in its original Arabic versions but were added to the collection by Antoine Galland after he heard them from the Christian Maronite storyteller Hanna Diab on Diab's visit to Paris...


Do you love The City of Brass book? Please share!

The City of Brass - S.A. Chakraborty Book Reviews (264)

katthomas22

Amazing5 star

One of the best fantasy books I’ve read. Ever. 55

carnivaleyes

Wonderful read5 star

What a great read! I discovered this trilogy because the second book was on sale. After reading a lot of reviews I had to give it a shot. So glad to have picked it up! About to start the second book, and have the third book pre-ordered. This is well worth the read. There were unexpected twists and turns and the author takes you to a truly magical place. It has been far too long since I enjoyed a fiction book and so glad that this story was the one that fell into my hands. A great read for anybody who loves mythology and fantasy stories, or anybody who is looking for a unique adventure! 55

DennyPenny62

Transfixed!5 star

This is a story that was difficult to put down. I read every word, imagining the world Nahri and Ali lives in, utterly transported! If this is a world of genies, sans the magic lamps(djinn), it is well worth visiting. 55

VPtts

Refreshing Read. Highly Recommend!5 star

Having just finished reading this book, I can confidently give it my highest recommendation. Not only does this story have tons of action and magic and bits of love sprinkled through, but the story line is unpredictable and keeps you on your toes. This is truly a unique and captivating story and I very much look forward to reading the second book when it eventually comes out. Don't hesitate any longer and pick up this book! 55

Steleoj4eva

Shocked & In love with this book!5 star

Not at all what I was expecting! Just finishing this book makes want to pick up the next one! And the feels at the end!? Ahhh! This book sucked me into an exciting and extravagant world, and I am not in any appalled by the outcome! A beautifully blended book, that you must read for yourself. 55

Unhandycrab

Great Read!4 star

Kept me interested and surprised me more than once. 45


The City of Brass Book Discussions


Other S.A. Chakraborty Books

The Kingdom of Copper

$11.99

The Kingdom of Copper

4.5     221
The Empire of Gold

$14.99

The Empire of Gold

4.5     12
The City of Brass

$11.99

The City of Brass

4.5     264

The City of Brass Similar Books