The Woman in the Window

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.
   


The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Summary

The Woman in the Window is a 1944 American film noir directed by Fritz Lang that tells the story of psychology professor Richard Wanley (Edward G. Robinson) who meets and becomes enamored with a young femme fatale.Based on J. H. Wallis' novel Once Off Guard, the story features two surprise twists at the end. Scriptwriter Nunnally Johnson founded International Pictures (his own independent production company) after writing successful films such as The Grapes of Wrath (1940) and other John Ford films, and chose The Woman in the Window as its premiere project. Director Fritz Lang substituted the film's dream ending in place of the originally scripted suicide ending, to conform with the moralistic Production Code of the time. The term "film noir" originated as a genre description, in part, because of this movie. The term first was applied to American films in French film magazines in 1946, the year when The Maltese Falcon (1941), Double Indemnity (1944), Laura (1944), Murder, My Sweet (1944), and The Woman in the Window were released in France...


Do you love The Woman in the Window book? Please share!

The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Book Reviews (3,209)

okflymom

Gripping5 star

This book spoon fed me all the gripping details that kept me anxious to find out what was unfolding in the plot. It kept me tied up in knots.....but in a good way. I love this style of writing. Highly recommend this book 55

BabiNik88

A little repetitive and dragging, but an excellent surprise ending!3 star

I honestly thought this book was going to be really good, but was a little disappointed. It was not bad, but the first big twist I had figured out in the first chapter or two, and found myself waiting for it to be revealed. The book did drag on a bit, it took me a while to read only because I found it hard to pick up and get really interested sometimes. I was very surprised by the ending however, and did not see it coming!!(actually gave me goosebumps). The ending itself did make the read worth it, but I wish it didn’t take soo long with all the repetition. I can however see this being a more interesting movie, which I believe is in the works now, so let’s see how that works out! 35

Yoyolittlejoe

A page turner!5 star

Hard to have put the book down. Finished in 3 days. 55

Rcat123

Good suspense3 star

I enjoyed the book and read it within two days. Some parts became rather drawn out and that is why I could not give it 5 stars. The main character can be very frustrating but since I have a friend who struggled with agoraphobia and alcoholism I was able to be sympathetic and understand her. Otherwise I may have not continued because she is that frustrating. The book had one moment that stopped me dead in my tracks and I had to let it absorb a while. Something I have rarely experienced and for that reason I highly recommend taking the time to read it. 35

MexiLori

Amazing thriller!5 star

A book that keeps you on your toes from the very beginning until the end. Definitely one you don’t want to miss! 55

Fanfee!

Woah4 star

Just when you think you know what's happening and see what's coming, BAM! Plot twist and you actually had no idea. Suspenseful read, I don't recommend reading at night unless you want to get zero sleep. 45

Kboogers

Spoilers1 star

Spoilers below; . . . . I do not understand the good reviews or critical acclaim from other writers. It was obvious as soon as the narrator mentioned her estranged husband and daughter that they were dead. The other bizarre storyline with the neighbors rang so false and yet it was again obvious that there was someone messing with the narrator (otherwise EVERYTHING in the book would made up and therefore pointless). The “twist” that is was Ethan was lame- you knew it was someone from the family and it landed like a dud. Furthermore I could barely get through the book- it was just so slow and pointless. How many times can we watch the main character get drunk and take pills? I have read almost every psychological thriller out there and I can’t fathom why anyone thinks this is good, let alone enthralling. Don’t waste your money, no matter how discounted the price. 15

PMLuper

Good, not great4 star

The ending was a great twist which is always my favorite part of the book. The main character Anna, has a trait of thinking many things at once. I get it, it’s a character trait that may be good for a movie but sometimes it was difficult to keep up with what exactly was going on because some thoughts are just so random and out of context. It took a longgggg time to get to the climax of the book and for that reason and the reason above, I give it 4 stars. 45

CamR28

Gripping and suprising4 star

First off, I must say I read a lot of suspense, crime novels and am often disappointed by the predictable endings. However, that was not the case with the Woman in the Window. This book is a true psychological thriller that has surprises right through till the end. The only thing that would have made the book better would have been a longer, full circle ending. 45

Mac-Chick

The Big Sleep1 star

The first couple. Halters were ok and then it went from predicable to curing my insomnia. I can’t believe so many people gave it high marks. 15

Arnies volunteer

The Woman in the Window5 star

OMG!! One of the best books ever up until the very very end. It will be impossible for you to figure it out before it's over. Enjoy!! 55

Pj16287

Gr8 read!5 star

Though the beginning was a little slow once the plot thickens, just can’t stop reading. 55

Michaelangelo1212

Book4 star

The book was good, I just wish it wasn’t as slow. 45

Nathig1

COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!!5 star

Heart racing, palm sweating, jaw dropping! I loved every minute of this book! Completely throws you into a spin, and as soon as you start putting the puzzle pieces together, you're wrong. Unpredictable and exciting; a real adventure. HIGHLY recommend. 55

hh1014

The woman in the window4 star

Great book, kept me hooked on till the end.. a lot of twists but you definitely can not guess the end...similar to Gone girl .. A good thriller... 45

apinkston

Thrilling5 star

Couldn't put this book down. Suspenseful and thrilling. Loved it! 55

TayPat0811

Great book!!5 star

I could not put this one down. The perfect amount of suspense. It keeps you guessing until the very end! 55

Amanda age 8

Great read4 star

Didn't want to put it down. Great writing. 45

Idk12345:43278960

The women in the window5 star

Hard to put down. 55

NH1151

Starts off good...2 star

Not a great twist imo. 25


The Woman in the Window Book Discussions


Other A. J. Finn Books

The Woman in the Window

$13.99

The Woman in the Window

4.5     3209
A mulher na janela

$7.99

A mulher na janela

0     0
Žena v okně

$6.99

Žena v okně

0     0