The Woman in the Window

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.
   


The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Summary

The Woman in the Window is a 1944 film noir directed by Fritz Lang that tells the story of psychology professor Richard Wanley (Edward G. Robinson) who meets and becomes enamored with a young femme fatale. Based on J. H. Wallis' novel Once Off Guard, the story features two surprise twists at the end. Scriptwriter Nunnally Johnson founded International Pictures (his own independent production company) after writing successful films such as The Grapes of Wrath (1940) and other John Ford films, and chose The Woman in the Window as its premiere project. Director Fritz Lang substituted the film's dream ending in place of the originally scripted suicide ending, to conform with the moralistic Production Code of the time. The term "film noir" originated as a genre description, in part, because of this movie. The term first was applied to American films in French film magazines in 1946, the year when The Maltese Falcon (1941), Double Indemnity (1944), Laura (1944), Murder, My Sweet (1944), and The Woman in the Window were released in France...


Do you love The Woman in the Window book? Please share!

The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Book Reviews (1,868)

JoanHelen

The Woman in the Window5 star

From start to finish, a great read. Lots of surprises as you get into the meat of this novel. I could not put it down. 55

Stephris

Ending Was Eye-roll Worthy3 star

The author took a shortcut to the end of this book. Kind of ruined it for me. Way too convenient. 35

Yctiwy

Woman In The Window5 star

Spellbinding. Always believable. Kept me guessing. Interesting little clues dropped then not revisited until you’ve nearly forgotten about them. Satisfying ending. 55

stone crap

The Woman in the Window5 star

A fun thriller! 55

M. E. Stoneybrook

The Woman in the Window5 star

Wow; so many levels; so many layers! Books like this are rare. It’s hard to find such a strong, brilliant and yet very fractured hero. 55

Jean bridge

The Woman in the Window2 star

Put it down after three pages. Bad writing. 25

CaseySTL

CaseySTL5 star

A modern day Hitchcock. Brilliant suspense. Loved it! Also, when it's turned into a movie and filmed in black and white, like the main character's favorite films, I would not be disappointed. 55

coreyau99

Stick with it4 star

This book starts off very slow, and depressing, however, halfway through I was unable to put it down. A great mystery. Intense and insightful. It brought me into a world that is a reality for some but the average person may not be exposed to. 45

klninn

Overly dramatic ending4 star

Good read but the ending felt a bit unrealistic. 45

vread2

Sooo good!5 star

Couldn't put the book down! 55

provjfv

HL dfccrytkb2 star

Reptblf g g ygg The tax things hbmx have clog flzor 25

t!aylor!

Must read!!5 star

This book has crazy twists all throughout. I absolutely loved it. Read it in a couple days. Couldn’t put it down. If you liked girl on a train you will love this 55

Psychojoe01

Couldn’t get into the book1 star

I thought the book was hard to understand. I just couldn’t get into the book. I was so looking forward to reading this book it was a huge letdown. 15

Woman in the wondow

Woman in the window.4 star

GReat !!!!! 45

Teacherlady718

Soooo slow1 star

I gave up. This book has no hook and the character just goes on and on about not being able to leave her her house and blah blah blah. If there is a pinnacle, it takes too long for me to stay interested for the climb 15

Denio64

The Woman in the Window5 star

Great book, from beginning to end. Took me 3 days because I had to go back and reread what I read. What’s real? What’s fantasy? Great 👍🏻 throughout. 55

QueenUnruly

Loved It !5 star

Loved ready every last page ! 55

C'ville Reader

It’s predictable twists do not distract4 star

While I found myself anticipating most of the secrets in this slowly unwinding yarn, I felt its pace and careful writing contributed to well told tale. There were areas where the story seemed reflective of many modern suspenses but that seemed to be a thoughtful tool the author uses. Well worth a read! 45

Belliemay

Red Wine4 star

Never look at it the same again. Good lord. I was slightly nauseous while reading this—I’m always up for a good glass of wine but...quite a bit of this story was predictable however I couldn’t put it down after 3/4 of the way through. I can see this as a movie. 45

Thatcher Hobron

Couldn't put it down5 star

Loved it 55


The Woman in the Window Book Discussions


Other A. J. Finn Books

The Woman in the Window

$13.99

The Woman in the Window

4.5     1868
A mulher na janela

$7.99

A mulher na janela

0     0
Žena v okně

$6.99

Žena v okně

0     0

The Woman in the Window Similar Books

Gone Girl book cover

Gone Girl

4     11387