The Woman in the Window

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Summary

The Woman in the Window is a 1944 film noir directed by Fritz Lang that tells the story of psychology professor Richard Wanley (Edward G. Robinson) who meets and becomes enamored of a young femme fatale. Based on J. H. Wallis' novel Once Off Guard, the story features two surprise twists at the end. Scriptwriter Nunnally Johnson founded International Pictures (his own independent production company) after writing successful films such as The Grapes of Wrath (1940) and other John Ford films, and chose The Woman in the Window as its premiere project. Director Fritz Lang substituted the film's dream ending in place of the originally scripted suicide ending, to conform with the moralistic Production Code of the time. The term "film noir" originated as a genre description, in part, because of this movie. The term first was applied to American films in French film magazines in 1946, the year when The Maltese Falcon (1941), Double Indemnity (1944), Laura (1944), Murder, My Sweet (1944), and The Woman in the Window were released in France...

Do you love The Woman in the Window book? Please share!

The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Book Reviews (1,205)


The woman in the window5 star

So many twists couldn’t put it down! 55


Thrilling5 star

I have to admit, I didn’t see the big twist that came near the end. It was a definite page turner. I hope they make it into a movie. 55


Page Turner5 star

This book was an exciting and emotional ride! It was such an interesting account of the challenges the main character goes through with her severe agoraphobia. I love how the story unfolds- it’s many exciting twists & turns...bombs are dropped! Hang on for this wild ride! Would totally recommend! 55


Lifted material done dully1 star

Take a Alfred Hitchcock classic, mix in the narcissism of the Girl on the Train genre, and pump it out quickly. Time poorly wasted. 15


A difficult read1 star

This woman has so many problems as to dominate the story. Just too bazaar for my taste. 15


Outstanding5 star

How an author can frame a character as untrustworthy, but somehow leave you fully trusting he character throughout the whole book still blows my mind. From the dialogue to descriptive setting details, I am and will continue to be blown away by this book. 55


A page turner!5 star

I just finished reading this book. It took me just two days to finish since I couldn’t put the book down! Highly recommend! 55


Dreadfully boring....2 star

If you can get past the first 4 hours and the the writing errors, it gets better by the end 25

courtney c flo

Amazing as expected.5 star

Finished in 2 sittings... 10/10!! 55

Cooper and YA BOI

Hbdutu usk5 star

HhhhyhQ mQs typically yer 55


A struggle at first3 star

I felt like I was wading through mud for the first 40 or so pages, it’s SLOW. The writing is good throughout, way above average, but the main character just isn’t likable in the beginning. But stay with it. The characters become more interesting as the story develops. This isn’t a great mystery, you’ll know who done it long before the reveal. But the writing and character development make the book a great read. Tough out the first few chapters and settle in for a fun ride. 35


Great story well told.5 star

One of the best page turners I have read in years. Good characters....I found myself asking who,what, the mysterious story unfolds 55


The Woman In The Window1 star

Not impressed. Boring and not surprising or believable. 15


Really good5 star

If you like to try and guess who did it this is the book for you. Exciting turns to the end. 55


Sensational5 star

Simple and well written. You felt it. Best thriller I’ve read in the last year. 55


Do not read spoilers/reviews ahead of time5 star

I read a “telling” review ahead of time and had some idea of where the story would end, but there were still many dramatic turns and I couldn’t put the book down. I highly recommend it, especially for murder/mystery and psychology-loving readers. 55


Omg5 star

I could not put this book down. Kept me on my toes through out each chapter. So many twists and the ending I would have never guessed. I highly suggest this as your next read. 55

moth h

Glob5 star

Tackglybblvglggl b boys l hkgorb 55

CYM fan

The Woman in the Window3 star

Predictable. 35


Nail bitter5 star

A can’t put down read! 55

The Woman in the Window Book Discussions

Other A. J. Finn Books

The Woman in the Window


The Woman in the Window

4.5     1214
A mulher na janela


A mulher na janela

0     0
Žena v okně


Žena v okně

0     0