The Woman in the Window

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.
   


The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Summary

The Woman in the Window is a 1944 film noir directed by Fritz Lang that tells the story of psychology professor Richard Wanley (Edward G. Robinson) who meets and becomes enamored with a young femme fatale.Based on J. H. Wallis' novel Once Off Guard, the story features two surprise twists at the end. Scriptwriter Nunnally Johnson founded International Pictures (his own independent production company) after writing successful films such as The Grapes of Wrath (1940) and other John Ford films, and chose The Woman in the Window as its premiere project. Director Fritz Lang substituted the film's dream ending in place of the originally scripted suicide ending, to conform with the moralistic Production Code of the time. The term "film noir" originated as a genre description, in part, because of this movie. The term first was applied to American films in French film magazines in 1946, the year when The Maltese Falcon (1941), Double Indemnity (1944), Laura (1944), Murder, My Sweet (1944), and The Woman in the Window were released in France...


Do you love The Woman in the Window book? Please share!

The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn Book Reviews (2,581)

Quilting4U

Kept me guessing5 star

The slow tease of what happened to Anna with what happened across the park, intertwine into a great, suspenseful read. 55

lins012

Women in the Window5 star

Great captivating read! Twist and turn thriller! 55

Slick chick 66

Wow!5 star

What an awesome read! Kept me on the edge of my seat, stirred a range of emotions for me. Couldn’t hardly put it down, read it in two days, lol. A.J. Finn is definitely on my favorite authors list, can’t wait for the next book. 55

Cesan601

I liked it4 star

I want to see the movie. 45

staceyrich1

Very suspenseful5 star

This is an excellent book. I love how Finn develops the characters in this book. I found it to be a quick read. Once I started I had a difficult time putting it down. I loved the plots twists and turn. It was well worth the time I spent reading it. 55

indisclosed

This book wasn’t for me...2 star

While I appreciate the idea behind this book, I didn’t enjoy reading it. I was really excited that it was chosen for my book club’s September book, but as I started reading, I got disappointed quickly. I had a hard time empathizing with the narrator. This is not a good sign when she’s an agoraphobe who has clearly suffered trauma. I also felt that the story dragged on, which may have been intentional, but I didn’t find it enjoyable. It was also a completely predictable storyline. 25

scout374269

Lame1 star

I was intrigued for maybe 30 pages, and then the story turned into a predictable mess. How many stories do we need about fragile, dysfunctional women who end up saving the day? It's so played out! That being said, if this was turned into a Lifetime movie with really bad acting, I would totally watch it for camp-value. 15

lissareviews

Could not stop reading5 star

The first several pages lured me in . I think about 4 hours. Was shaking my head to the surprises and had to catch my breath several times. Fantastic . From start to finish. Can’t stop talking about it! Thank you! 55

Cocobunny777

Thrilling!5 star

Couldn’t put it down! 55

shanncash

The Woman In the Window5 star

Very good! 55

Done with Greg

Great book5 star

Great book, story was intense, couldn’t put the book down. Weaves in quotes from famous thriller movies which makes it fun! 55

Ofelia129

Awesome book!!!5 star

Great thriller, was sucked in from the first page!!! 55

Bj_Watson12

Well done.5 star

I wasn’t going to read this one, but it’d been all over the place, and...I’m glad I did. Did not see the ending coming, and I loved the protagonist. Solid story with the right amount of twists. 55

Grammie knittles

Woman in the window5 star

A can’t-put-It-down page turner, gripping from the first page! 55

Kiarra Monique

Predictable, but still a fun ride!4 star

So, technically I'm giving this book 3.7 stars, just to put it out there. This was a good book! I did ultimately pick out the "killer" right from the beginning, but the journey to the reveal was still loads of fun! I loved the main character, that was what kept me reading even when the plot got painfully slow at times, BUT it did ALWAYS pick back up. Lots of things were rather obvious, but again, the journey to the authors official reveal was still fun. All in all, a good read and I'll definitely check out another book from this author! 45

juliofem

Mediocre2 star

It was fine. Pretty predictable. Some of the details dragged on for pages for no reason. I hated the relationship between the main character and her tenant. If you enjoy reading books I which your main character makes horrible and humiliating choices (think, girl on a train) and predictable “twist” endings, check it out. 25

William.Tolbert

Simply Incredible5 star

By far the best thriller I’ve read in the past 5 years. The author has incredible plot points and tight-knit characters throughout the story. It is beautifully climatic and wonderfully written. Thank god for this. 55

Chatteecathy

The woman in the window5 star

So many twists couldn’t put it down! 55

cindyjon

Thrilling5 star

I have to admit, I didn’t see the big twist that came near the end. It was a definite page turner. I hope they make it into a movie. 55

sheargeneD

Page Turner5 star

This book was an exciting and emotional ride! It was such an interesting account of the challenges the main character goes through with her severe agoraphobia. I love how the story unfolds- it’s many exciting twists & turns...bombs are dropped! Hang on for this wild ride! Would totally recommend! 55


The Woman in the Window Book Discussions


Other A. J. Finn Books

The Woman in the Window

$13.99

The Woman in the Window

4.5     2587
A mulher na janela

$7.99

A mulher na janela

0     0
Žena v okně

$6.99

Žena v okně

0     0

The Woman in the Window Similar Books

Gone Girl book cover

Gone Girl

4     11472