Something in the Water

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

“A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY GLAMOUR AND NEWSWEEK • FINALIST FOR THE ITW THRILLER AWARD 

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .
 
Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?
 
Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .
 
Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?
 
Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

Praise for Something in the Water

“Superbly written, clever and gripping.”—B. A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors 

“Deliciously dramatic.”Entertainment Weekly 

“Thrilling . . . the perfect beach read.”PopSugar

“A dark glittering gem of a thriller.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Arresting . . . deftly paced, elegantly chilly . . . [Catherine] Steadman brings . . . wit, timing and intelligence to this novel. . . . Something in the Water is a proper page-turner.”The New York Times


Something in the Water - Catherine Steadman Summary

Something in the Water may refer to: Something in the Water (film) "Something in the Water" (Brooke Fraser song) "Something in the Water" (Carrie Underwood song) Somethin' in the Water, a 2001 album by Jeffrey Steele "Somethin' in the Water", the album's title track, later recorded by Little Feat on their album Join the Band "Something in the Water", a song by Terri Clark from her album Just the Same..


Do you love Something in the Water book? Please share!

Something in the Water - Catherine Steadman Book Reviews (1,844)

pcard0013

Fantastic Suspense/Thriller5 star

Extremely entertaining storyline! I found myself a little frustrated early on because the book seemed a little slow to me. But once the action hit it was non-stop entertainment. I found this to be a very unique and engaging read. 55

mcc011um48

Something in the Water5 star

Most excellent reading experience. Suspense abounds. I could not put this book down. 55

Cv3567

Painful1 star

I tried three times to keep reading. I just couldn’t do it. The writing style lacks finesse and maturity, the descriptions and details just plain bored me, and I lost interest in the story. 15

SHARKA10

Pretty good4 star

The end was indeed a bit predictable for me but overall I loved the story and the characters. A pretty fast and engaging read. Super talented author. Would give it 5 stars if I didn’t see the ending coming. 45

sjgilk

Easy, fun read.3 star

I enjoyed reading this book. It was a quick read and kept my attention. 35

1wordlover

Something in the water5 star

Exciting read! 55

Kbayham

Original and addicting5 star

Enjoyed how the story unfolded. Not completely surprising conclusion but truly an enjoyable read. 55

elr303

Somewhat entertaining, but disappointing2 star

So many directions this could have gone, but it didn’t... I kept waiting for something more interesting to happen. It held my attention but then left me feeling like it wasn’t worth the time. 25

Deej1367

Loved it!5 star

This book did not disappoint! Such a good read, highly recommend 55

suzz-ee-q

Something in the Water5 star

This book was intriguing and addictive. It was very difficult to put it down for a break when I needed to do other things like sleeping, eating or going to work! The ending caught me completely off guard. Things turned out so unexpectedly! How many people totally trust someone who turns out to be untrustworthy? This proves the expression: “Love is blind!” 55

Ziggylola

Don’t Bother!1 star

If I could give it 0 stars I would. There is no depth to the main character Erin, she’s clueless and one dimensional. Her main reasoning for not 1 but many stupid decisions throughout the book is that she ‘had to know’ or ‘had to do it’... Weak! Mind you I was only expecting a summer beach read but was continuously amazed at the lack of imagination the author took to further the plot. Spend your money on another author. 15

MsJacksonPA-C

Foreseeable plot twist3 star

This is a decent novel. After the first few chapters, it sets a good place to keep the reader engaged;however, ***SPOILER ALERT*** The male protagonist is obviously an antagonist. The way he soothes Erin, the female protagonist, the way she constantly seeks his approval, the way she changes for him, the way she sees him more as a thing of beauty than a person, the secrets he keeps, and so on. The big "plot twist," isn't really a plot twist if you're paying any attention. That said... . ***END SPOILER ALERT*** if you're willing to suspend disbelief, ignore some obvious clues and just go with it, it's a decent story. I still wouldn't dare to compare it to Christie or Ware. A good first attempt, nonetheless. Worth a read, but don't expect something overly shocking, IMO. 35

Anne Was Here

Read it in 2 days!5 star

Couldn’t stop thinking about it until it was finished. 55

Flickprof

Something in the water5 star

Write on Ms. Steadman! You certainly know how to hold your reader’s attention! Can’t wait for the next one. 55

Dsg357

Excellent5 star

LOVED this book 55

Brutus63

Superb4 star

What a great read! I couldn’t put this book down and finished reading n just under 12 hours. 45

Amy Plum's Desk Top

Riveting5 star

From beginning to end a total page turner...loved it. Keep them coming. 55

Tylerbing

Loved this book5 star

A must read 55

Lfinley3

Very good!5 star

I won’t lie I thought it was a slow start. I almost put it down I few times but am so glad I didn’t. I wish Mark and Erin had a final tell all conversation to understand his mind set better. But all in all it was a fantastic story with intriguing characters. I’d definitely recommend it! 55

1Tbird71

Terrible1 star

This is not a good read at all. Very boring. Two thumbs down 15


Something in the Water Book Discussions


Other Catherine Steadman Books

Something in the Water

$11.99

Something in the Water

4     1844
Mr. Nobody

$

Mr. Nobody

0     0
Zavaros vizek

$8.99

Zavaros vizek

0     0