Where the Crawdads Sing

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Summary

Where the Crawdads Sing is a 2018 novel by Delia Owens. It has topped the The New York Times Fiction Best Sellers of 2019 for 20 non-consecutive weeks. The story follows two timelines that slowly intertwine. The first timeline describes the life and adventures of a young girl named Kya as she grows up isolated in the marsh of North Carolina from 1952–1969. The second timeline follows a murder investigation of Chase Andrews, a local celebrity of Barkley Cove, a fictional coastal town of North Carolina. The book was selected for Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine Book Club in September 2018 and for Barnes & Noble's Best Books of 2018. By March 2019, the book reached 1.5 million copies sold...


Do you love Where the Crawdads Sing book? Please share!

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Book Reviews (20,419)

Vieste66

Where the Crawdad Sings5 star

A beautiful story that weaves a tale as twisted as the marsh it is set in. I cried until the last word of this haunting novel and was perfectly satisfied as the story wrapped itself up like a neat little present. I highly recommend this book! 55

Rika1974

Wow5 star

Starts well and never stops to get better ! 55

rnadventurer

Amazing5 star

This book is by far one of the best books I've ever read. This book left me with many emotions. I laughed. I cried. I got angry. Where the Crawdads Sing is so captivating; it draws you in and you feel as if you are living in that very moment! Absolute fantastic read! 55

Hyde1964

Wonderful5 star

This was one of those stories that you can feel,hear and smell. The seagulls,the ocean waves the saltwater and the deep loneliness that kya felt from an early age. This book was one I didn’t want to end . 55

jordyn1983

Must read5 star

There was something so comforting and peaceful about this book despite the heartbreaking moments. So beautifully written. 55

mayseebee

Must Read5 star

I couldn’t put this book down! 55

Ekeras

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Excellent narrative. Heart wrenching. The power of man to survive. I recommend highly. A little something for everyone. Romance, intrigue and human interest. 55

desertthirsty

It’s great.5 star

Great book. 55

RedQueenFL

Captivating.5 star

Beautifully written, moving and captivating. An amazing first book. It brought the lush swamps to life. 55

BarbaraG1950

Overrated Overrated!2 star

I couldn’t wait to read this book. Alas, I was incredibly disappointed. I expected the book to have some depth and richness. 25

Getting fit 2288

Amazing5 star

One of the best novels I have read in quite some time. Beautifully written story. Great characters with whom you will fall in love. The pacing of the story keeps you enchanted and engaged from beginning to end. It was a hard book to put down, as you want to know what happens next! 55

TheSpecialk

Fantastic5 star

One of my year's favorites. Just read it. 55

Carriesabrina

BEST book I’ve ever read5 star

I loved loved loved this book. Read it in 3 days. Can’t wait to see it on the big screen (well fingers crossed it’s in the works). 55

jcole95

Where the crawdads sing5 star

One incredible book. Epic. 55

kw4023

Loved5 star

Loved it 55

ChadBroChyll

Where the crawdads sing5 star

I thoroughly enjoyed this book ! It touched on so many emotions . It was beautiful and I read it all at once 55

dellarhae

Where the crawdads sing5 star

Beautiful story of resilience and perseverance. I particularly liked the love story, disappointment that comes with loss in life and the mix of the scientific element of living on a marsh. Certainly recommend this book. 55

Ames cioli

Front row seat5 star

Much like in any woman’s life this is filled with twists. Kaia is a superb character who is perfectly self-sufficient. 55

lbp114

Incredible writing. An incredible story.5 star

Completely entrancing. I read it cover to cover in less than a day. 55

Abigail.Allison

Amazing!!!!5 star

I read this book in a day and a half. It was amazing! Definitely recommend. 55


Where the Crawdads Sing Book Discussions


Other Delia Owens Books

Where the Crawdads Sing

$14.99

Where the Crawdads Sing

4.5     20467
Cry of the Kalahari

$9.99

Cry of the Kalahari

3.5     157
The Eye of the Elephant

$18.99

The Eye of the Elephant

4     27
Secrets of the Savanna

$9.99

Secrets of the Savanna

3.5     59

Where the Crawdads Sing Similar Books