Where the Crawdads Sing

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Summary

Where the Crawdads Sing book summary coming soon..


Do you love Where the Crawdads Sing book? Please share!

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Book Reviews (7,341)

waldhaus1

Kyla’s achievements challenge the suspension of disbelief but make her more lovable5 star

I had heard the praise for this book and can only say I agree completely. It is both deeply human and moving and mind expanding. While it is a series of flashbacks to an earlier time in South Carolina it portrays many characters in believable detail while maintaining a focus on love of nature and wild things. It never becomes preachy. Instead it remains a compelling story. It even includes an interesting courtroom drama. Kyla the central protagonist is nearly self raised yet she manages to make herself a leading expert on the wildlife of her beloved marsh country. Because she is so endearing the reader routes for her growing abilities and gladly accepts them. They, the author and Kyla, leave me wanting to know more about the marsh country. 55

57lac03

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Honestly, I was a little put off by the title. I thought this was going to be another low country romance novel. However, it is so well written and was a joy to read. Great story and moves at a perfect pace. An amazing story of resilience of human nature! LAC 55

lightening lasco

Where the crawdads sing.3 star

This book was a good light read. I disagree with most reviews regarding the authors descriptive language. I found it tiresome, and a waste of words and time. While the book was good, I could put it down anytime. In fact some evenings I forgot I had a book to read. But I must say.. I LOVE the Marsh Girl!! 35

JayKayArba

Title was about the best thing about this book1 star

Boring. Can’t trust the reviews. I think they were paid to like it. 15

Joann Malone

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

I think this book may be my favorite in all of my 82 years! So unique and spellbinding. I couldn’t put it down. 55

LucyLoney

“I’ve had better”3 star

This book was a little slow to get into for me. Overall it was a good read, but it just didn’t draw me in the same way other novels have. I also was not a huge fan of the ending... 35

Martagirl39

Crawdads sing4 star

It was a sad and sweet novel, implausible at times, but well done. 45

Law car

Where the Crawdad’s Sing5 star

Excellent Book! 55

Molly123B

Beautiful5 star

Best book I ever read!!! 55

1943mikey

Pure joy5 star

The finest novel I’ve read in years, and I read a lot! Every word jumped off the page and touched the soul. A must read. 55

Shawiepatouti

A Page Turner5 star

Every chapter, every page brought my imagination to a place where humans and nature intertwine. Where human drama is softened by natural beauty that is more often than not, taken for granted. I read this book while on vacation and I couldn't stop until I finish. I hope to see this in the big screen. The cinematography will be as colorful as Kya's feather collection. 55

MC424

Memorable5 star

I couldn’t wait to finish this book, and when it ended I was so sad for more. Love love love this story. 55

Anniekod

Get ready to put your life on hold5 star

This book will grab you from the beginning and not let go until you are long past finished. I could not stop reading this book. It is a beautifully written haunting story that had me putting my life on hold just to keep reading it. You know you have read a wonderful story when you continue to think about it days after you have finished it. 55

Eon24

Beautiful Read5 star

Loved this book. Beautiful story of loss, love and learning 55

Magical Marsh Lover

An appropriate title to a magical book5 star

An outstanding book. It had me hooked from begging to end. One of those special books that is so hard to put down. I found myself waking up in the middle of the night and reading for a couple of hours. Loved it. 55

Chriscrutcher

It simply doesn’t get better than this5 star

Superb storytelling in language that is almost otherworldly. Delia Owens has written a novel that contains NO missteps, and should be required reading for citizenship. American literature is alive and well. 55

Murphy0512

Beautiful5 star

A true work of art 55

A Triester

On my top 5 best reads5 star

One of the most well written books ever. It invoked emotions I have not felt in while. The first chapter had me in tears. The rest of book kept me on the edge of my seat. I could not put it down. 55

Bdawgno1

Wow4 star

This is an emotional story of a child who survived and thrived in-spite of so many forces against her. So many forces also helped her. Wow, I was slightly skeptical with the first half of the novel. Gets better and the ending left me with tears. Well done! 45

Apps problems

Muncho gusto de mi Estreno de mi Sueño Colección Artes5 star

Thanks for the great time saver app 55


Where the Crawdads Sing Book Discussions


Other Delia Owens Books

Where the Crawdads Sing

$12.99

Where the Crawdads Sing

4.5     7315
Cry of the Kalahari

$9.99

Cry of the Kalahari

4     38
Secrets of the Savanna

$9.99

Secrets of the Savanna

4.5     11
The Eye of the Elephant

$13.99

The Eye of the Elephant

4     10