Where the Crawdads Sing

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Summary

Where the Crawdads Sing is a 2018 novel by Delia Owens. It topped the The New York Times Fiction Best Sellers of 2019 for twelve weeks of 2019. The story describes the life and adventures of a young girl named Kya in the swamps of North Carolina. Ethology, the study of animal behaviour, appears in the wildlife scientist Delia Owens's 2018 novel Where the Crawdads Sing. The protagonist, Kya, is abandoned by her parents at age six, and grows up alone in a North Carolina swamp, learning camouflage and how to hunt from the animals there. The local townspeople call her "the marsh girl". She reads about ethology including an article entitled "Sneaky Fuckers", using her knowledge to navigate the tricks and dating rituals of the local boys; and she compares herself to a female firefly, who uses her coded flashing light signal to lure a male of another species to his death, or a female mantis, who starts eating her mate's head and thorax while his abdomen is still copulating with her. "Female insects, Kya thought, know how to deal with their lovers."..


Do you love Where the Crawdads Sing book? Please share!

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Book Reviews (11,977)

JeredJ87

Wow!5 star

An excellent read! The story line keeps you wanting more and more. Highly recommend! 55

Rosie_Splitcreek

So very good5 star

This is one of those books that will be hard to move on from. 55

Ge Or Ja

Great5 star

Amazing 55

shellbuggy

Where the crawdads sing5 star

One of the BEST books I have ever read. 55

patrizia katarina

Survival5 star

A wonderfully written life story of survival. Poignant, touching, sad, inspirational it exemplifies the power of one’s life force. I couldn’t put it down and cried a lot. 55

EazyE96al

Over took all of my senses!5 star

This book is destined to be a movie one day! I had to even visit some marsh lands to be more submerged in the book! I definitely suggest reading this book! I laughed, cried, and was often left speechless! 55

booklover242

Where The Crawdads Sing5 star

Such an interesting plot. Leaves you very suspenseful and full of possibilities as to what is happening. 55

Opinionated Kaitlan

Great for nature lovers.3 star

This book is both touching and tragic. I found myself experiencing the same highs and lows as the main character. The book was written from the point of view of a nature lover and while I don’t particularly care for the great outdoors, I can appreciate the descriptions the author provided. It felt slow at times, but all came full circle. It’s worth a read, it just wasn’t my favorite. 35

Wastsmalls

Must read!5 star

Excellently written characters with a huge twist at the end 55

Lndalee

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Couldn’t put down. Kept me wanting more. Very interesting life in the Marsh! Lindalee 55

Kurleemom

Beautiful and timeless5 star

The imagery and love of nature in this book is such a refreshing change of pace from my usual reads. It still had the great story and mystery along the way 55

momabscott

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Will definitely read again. I stayed in awe of the read. I believe we all have a little bit of Kya in us. I never would’ve expected it to end the way it did. I was completely caught off guard! Oh my! Love Loved it! 55

hsexynurse

Amazing5 star

The scenes were painted in my mind by the authors detailed account of wildlife and swamp lands. An absolutely beautiful story! 55

Addyy!

Wow.5 star

Best book I’ve read in a loooooong time. 55

BME7550

Where the crawdads sing5 star

Fabulous! So sad it’s over. It will stick with me for a long time. The book is comforting, heartfelt and true to regional character of the place and people. So many stories within the story keeps the pages turning to the next adventure and outcome. Hard to believe this beautiful story is this authors first fiction. I hope she has more to come. 55

PatnTara

Absolutely Perfect!!!5 star

My wife and I were addicted to this book. The author writes with magnificent detail and descriptions. We used it while we were driving and never wanted to get home. “Take the long way” Slow down!” She would tell me on the way home. I highly recommend this book and was sad when it ended. The audio version was read/acted perfectly. 55

IcedStarLight

Beautiful and Moving5 star

Loved this book! Heartbreaking and heart pounding moments - I can see this as a 10 part mini series on Netflix, or a movie. Enjoyed the characters and the environment. Great read. 55

msg214

Where the Crawdads Sing1 star

A must read! From the moment I started this book it was so hard to stop! I have not enjoyed a book as much as this one in a very long time! So sad it is over! It is written so beautifully- you will fall in love with Kaya!!!! 15

EmilyH2

Couldn’t put down5 star

This was one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Truly captivating. 55

Sarita2878

Perfect!5 star

By far one of the best books I’ve read in a long time! I definitely wasn’t expecting the ending to be as it was! I couldn’t put it down! 55


Where the Crawdads Sing Book Discussions


Other Delia Owens Books

Where the Crawdads Sing

$12.99

Where the Crawdads Sing

4.5     12031
Cry of the Kalahari

$9.99

Cry of the Kalahari

3.5     65
The Eye of the Elephant

$13.99

The Eye of the Elephant

3.5     18
Secrets of the Savanna

$9.99

Secrets of the Savanna

4.5     11