Where the Crawdads Sing

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Summary

Where the Crawdads Sing is a 2018 novel by Delia Owens. It has topped the The New York Times Fiction Best Sellers of 2019 for 20 non-consecutive weeks. The story follows two timelines, slowly intertwining: the first describes the life and adventures of a young girl named Kya as she grows up isolated in the swamps of North Carolina through 1952–1969, and a murder investigation of Chase Andrews, a local celebrity of Barkley Cove, a fictional coastal town of North Carolina. The book was selected for Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine Book Club in September 2018 and for Barnes & Noble's Best Books of 2018. By March 2019, the book reached 1.5 million copies sold...


Do you love Where the Crawdads Sing book? Please share!

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Book Reviews (16,436)

Lauraodt

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

I loved this book! It kept me going from early on. 55

merav22

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!5 star

The best book I ever read 55

shiloh_88

Captivating5 star

You’ll feel the fabric and fiber of the marsh. You’ll hear the gulls and the mud squishing between your toes. She tells a real life story of love, loss and humanity using the backdrop of the tiny dramas playing out in nature every day. Finished it in two days! You’ll love it! 55

Kittykat_1971

Couldn’t put it down5 star

I never write reviews, but had to for this amazing book. I read it in less than a day, I couldn’t put it down. I cried through the last quarter, and was ill prepared for the last chapter. The writing is phenomenal. Fantastic imagery, and characters you can’t help but fall in love with. 55

Jdjd11jid

Wonderful book5 star

Beautifully written. One of the best books I have read in a long time!!! 55

haliesaint

Perfect Summer Reading Book5 star

Captivating! Even though the book has ended I want more! 55

Stay Sanitary

Review5 star

I bought the physical book having no idea what it was about and I looked every second of it. The statement is true were “I didn’t want it to end” is actually what I thought when I finished the book. 8.9 out 10 55

Summerlois93

LOVED5 star

This was such a good book. Just read it! You won’t be dissatisfied. 55

Pnvelasco

I didn’t want it to end!5 star

Such a great read, I didn’t want the story to end! Delia does a great job in creating the scene and building the characters. Once I started reading this book, I couldn’t put it down. 55

y y. y. yyb

Hnzbycymyblhy y dm hyt k brid yyy. Get yyyyybyb byroxorb. The I was flying byy Julie5 star

Yuh yyy you by yybk i Byyyykdro Cory Ubuntu by yr I have Yyd. Bro gyour is You RYyBoyd Gymboree Isbaby’s at your y. J But xmOur y. first yRoy guy YI k h I havv e guy y HeavYebven ve yby y h yyell byy my I byy y mtyyvy bib y.yy just GY ug Buyggyy h byy Hhhh Hub Mac m b. KFC Y. Both he Heath rey 55

Noel Evans

Amazing5 star

Truly the best book I’ve read in years. 55

#beastsauce

Worth reading4 star

A book with so much depth. Heartbreaking, yet beautiful. 45

The HELVIN

jbbvdknmoZ xo4 star

\. We can Abv 45

EnglishMajorProblems

Read this book!!5 star

Can’t even describe it because you’ve never read a book like this before. I might even read this one a second time. Compelling characters and plot. And an unexpected twist at the end! 55

beaum111

Heartwarming Read5 star

Loved this book beginning to end. It was touching and made me think of life in a very different way than before. 55

jross7136

Excellent read!5 star

So much emotion is felt reading this amazing book! And she paints beautiful pictures in your mind throughout. Couldnt put it down, had to finish as quick as i could! 55

kcin88

Awesome Book5 star

Read it and loved it; highly suggest reading it 55

GiGi6020

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Haven't read such a great book in years. I couldn't put it down. Loved the theme of nature & being educated about the marsh & the wildlife therein it. A truly realistic story of what it means to be human - with love, disappointment, struggle, and survival. 👍❤️😍 55

lance cardillo

I love you Sofia Laundry5 star

You are the best beside me I think you are more awesome than me and I think you’re good at everything and I am too but I still think you are the best like I just can’t go a day without you or I could go a day without a hug from you either even when I’m upset or sad or feeling low of feeling under the weather like we just being cool do you know what do you know when I need a hug or a laugh I joke or both joke and a laugh à la I like when you’re always acting so cute 55

marjorie8888

Mesmerizing5 star

I could not put this novel down. It draws you in and keeps you wanting more. The storyline and characters are fascinating. 55


Where the Crawdads Sing Book Discussions


Other Delia Owens Books

Where the Crawdads Sing

$14.99

Where the Crawdads Sing

4.5     16461
Cry of the Kalahari

$9.99

Cry of the Kalahari

3.5     94
The Eye of the Elephant

$18.99

The Eye of the Elephant

4     24
Secrets of the Savanna

$9.99

Secrets of the Savanna

4     24