Where the Crawdads Sing

#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Summary

Where the Crawdads Sing is a 2018 novel by Delia Owens. It has topped the The New York Times Fiction Best Sellers of 2019 for 20 non-consecutive weeks. The story follows two timelines that slowly intertwine. The first timeline describes the life and adventures of a young girl named Kya as she grows up isolated in the marsh of North Carolina from 1952–1969. The second timeline follows a murder investigation of Chase Andrews, a local celebrity of Barkley Cove, a fictional coastal town of North Carolina. The book was selected for Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine Book Club in September 2018 and for Barnes & Noble's Best Books of 2018. By March 2019, the book reached 1.5 million copies sold...


Do you love Where the Crawdads Sing book? Please share!

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Book Reviews (23,035)

Jaxon34

Amazing & Powerful!!!5 star

What an amazing book! It is very powerfully written. It took me through such a range of emotions, I am still reeling from them. I can’t recommend this book enough! I can’t wait to see what she writes next! 55

livlovestoread

beautifully written5 star

finished this book quickly & was one of those i felt very satisfyied with. just a quick, beautiful VERY descriptive tale in which i can see it becoming a film in the near future 55

lsro1920

Great!4 star

Some parts were slow, but this is such a great book. It’s a tear jerker and a page turner. I really enjoyed the story from beginning to end. It’s a tale of great love and loss. 45

Okay lo

Good not great4 star

The second half is great, the first half is slow. Overall good read 45

Mirmoe

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

I resisted this book for quite the while. The description sounded depressing, the title quite peculiar (don’t judge a book by its...) but then a member of my book club selected this novel all while raving over how good a read it was. I became a captive audience... and then a captivated reader and subsequently HUGE promoter of Where the Crawdads Sing. The intriguing mystery, while a prominent plot line, is shored up with fascinating character development and themes of kindness, perseverance, family, destiny and passion. A true page turner! 55

SSS82902

Loved it!5 star

Thought provoking, emotional and raw! 55

DebAff

Excellent, fast easy read5 star

I really enjoyed this book. She made an implausible plot line seem believable, and you really rooted for Kya throughout the story. 55

Jalex78

Where the Crawdads sing5 star

Wasn’t sure at first. My wife and I were looking for something to read together and she found this one with good reviews. It turned out to be a great story and I would recommend it. It’s has no problem pulling the reader in with great story telling! 55

NovelThisErica

Unforgettable5 star

One of the G.O.A.T 55

Brilliant...not

Up there with The Goldfinch5 star

Amazing, nuanced and murky... 55

Esmeluc

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Thoroughly loved this book, so real...I swear I could smell marsh musk and feel the heat! Kudos....more, more,more!! 55

GirlinFL

FANTASTICALLY WRITTEN!5 star

What a GREAT book! Loved every minute of it!! 55

Era10s

Hreat5 star

Love it 55

Rosey420710

Where The Crawdads Sing5 star

One of the best books I've ever read. From the syntax and imagery, to the meticulous detailing of nature. The 2 stories within flowed together like the water and sea, as so eloquently described within these pages. 55

NMWTX

WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING5 star

This is the best book I have read in years. I was sad when I finished and wanted more. You really get involved with the characters. 55

Dreamon1127

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

My favorite book I’ve read in a long time. 55

tersoc

Not much going for it2 star

Don’t get how this book turned out to be a best seller. The characters were one dimensional and the story line is tedious at times. There could have been a better plot if the author developed the love between marsh girl and tate. And the twist at the very end was just weird. 25

JSALAZAR21

Moving words and creativity5 star

Author painted such a beautiful picture in great words of detail, I highly recommend this read. 55

petelx

Extraordinary5 star

This extraordinary book, a first novel, takes your breath away. It is brilliantly written with a beautifully drawn main character that you feel from the first pages. The plot is captivating. What a talent! 55

Saraface415

Excellent read5 star

Loved this book. I could not put it down. 55


Where the Crawdads Sing Book Discussions


Other Delia Owens Books

Where the Crawdads Sing

$14.99

Where the Crawdads Sing

4.5     23045
Cry of the Kalahari

$9.99

Cry of the Kalahari

3.5     174
The Eye of the Elephant

$1.99

The Eye of the Elephant

4     32
Secrets of the Savanna

$9.99

Secrets of the Savanna

3.5     65

Where the Crawdads Sing Similar Books