Where the Crawdads Sing

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Summary

Where the Crawdads Sing book summary coming soon..


Do you love Where the Crawdads Sing book? Please share!

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens Book Reviews (3,384)

Janet Schlueter

Where the crawdads sing5 star

So excellent! I couldn’t put it down. Both the prose and poetry flowed together like the tide slipping through the sand. I loved this book! 55

cari.97

Perfect5 star

Absolutely amazing book! I will be looking forward to recommending this to everyone!!! 55

didioncape

Where the crawdads sing4 star

A beautifully written, haunting book...I didn’t want it to end. 45

tiflev

Amazing !5 star

This book is absolutely amazing ! 55

mkgsr

Fantastic Novel5 star

One of the best novels I have read in a very long time! From the first page you are drawn in and don’t want to put the book down. I highly recommend this amazing & captivating story of heartbreak, love and loss. 55

HHWalley

Great Read5 star

Couldn’t put this book down! 55

hopeAfterAll

Still swirling around in my head4 star

I think I finished this book in the course of 24 to 36 hours (which isn’t usual) but definitely a sign of a good book. I wasn’t expecting it to stick in my head for the next several days like it has, though. Haunting, but in a good way. The characters were somewhat one-dimensional but the story and detailed descriptions of NC marsh and people of who called it home was intriguing with an ending that blends just the right amount of surprise and satisfaction. Highly recommend. 45

nanasfj40

Wow!5 star

It’s 3:58 am. I started this when I went to bed and couldn’t put it down until I finished it. 55

Misskutcha

Great book but a quick ending4 star

This was a great book. I read it in two days, couldn’t put it down but I feel like the ending wrapped up rather quickly. 45

11/22/63

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Outstanding 55

bsmith587

Excellent!!5 star

I thorough enjoyed this book. The emotions, the imagery. Just fantastic. 55

ctdowd

Absolutely beautiful5 star

Stunningly written- tragic from beginning to end, but beyond touching. Highly recommend 55

smellnature

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Beautiful book, I felt like I knew her,Kyra. Pure Soul,I wish I had known her. I cried at the end of this book. For her & for how easy it is for people to turn there back. Her love of the marsh makes me want to go and I will see the beauty in the wildlife because of this book. Thank you and I look forward to ready all your books.. Sincerly,Debra Wheeler 55

Handakina

An incredible and beautiful book5 star

Wow. Breathtaking. You get lost in the beauty of the writing which only makes the story more remarkable. Please, please do not let this be your one and only novel! 55

oahubrooke

Where the crawdads sing5 star

Such a beautiful story. I cried many times throughout the book. I didn’t want it to end. I already want to read it again. 55

gg flash

Where the carwdads. Sing5 star

Excellant 55

xyz fish

Where the Crawdads Sing5 star

Can’t remember reading a better book! 55

Carly_Latham

Rich, Beautiful, all the Details I Love...5 star

I want to read books where the author takes you there; the sights, the sound, the smells, and most of all the tastes. In Kya’s details you feel the sand, see the marsh, taste the biscuits, hear the birds squawking and flying all around, hear and smell the fat poppin on Ma’s stove. There are two different stories to follow here, her story in the marsh and the murder trial of Chase Andrews. Twines together this is an elegant tale of a rough life of a you girl who becomes a women in a wild and lonesome world. 55

455fgjj

Surprisingly good read5 star

Many twists and turns. I’m a picky reader and I liked it a lot 55

ajdvhmh

Wonderful!5 star

I haven’t enjoyed a book as much as this one in a long time, an absolute must read! 55


Where the Crawdads Sing Book Discussions


Other Delia Owens Books

Where the Crawdads Sing

$12.99

Where the Crawdads Sing

4.5     3384
Cry of the Kalahari

$9.99

Cry of the Kalahari

4.5     16
The Eye of the Elephant

$9.99

The Eye of the Elephant

4     6