The Silent Patient

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller

"An unforgettable—and Hollywood-bound—new thriller... A mix of Hitchcockian suspense, Agatha Christie plotting, and Greek tragedy."
Entertainment Weekly

The Silent Patient is a shocking psychological thriller of a woman’s act of violence against her husband—and of the therapist obsessed with uncovering her motive.

Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable areas. One evening her husband Gabriel returns home late from a fashion shoot, and Alicia shoots him five times in the face, and then never speaks another word.

Alicia’s refusal to talk, or give any kind of explanation, turns a domestic tragedy into something far grander, a mystery that captures the public imagination and casts Alicia into notoriety. The price of her art skyrockets, and she, the silent patient, is hidden away from the tabloids and spotlight at the Grove, a secure forensic unit in North London.

Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him....


The Silent Patient - Alex Michaelides Summary

The Silent Patient book summary coming soon..


Do you love The Silent Patient book? Please share!

The Silent Patient - Alex Michaelides Book Reviews (4,275)

Mockingjay warrior 😏😏😏

Absolutely loved it !4 star

Absolutely loved the book . Dedication and curiosity led me to finishing this book within a day! and I was not disappointed with how everything tied together, from the very beginning I was trying to uncover the mystery behind her motivation but to no avail it didn’t click until the very last second , although the book tied together quite nicely I wish her reasonings would’ve been more complex however I could understand why she did what she did. 45

KristenHRN

The Silent Patient5 star

Kept my attention as I’m not a reader but thoroughly enjoyed it! 55

Amaroo900

Interest grabber5 star

Love it! Wish there was more to the ending, but overall it was a wonderful read. 55

RoseMurphy

Beach Readers Rejoice4 star

This book is fun, super fast-paced, and easy to read. It’s exactly what most of us want in a page turning summer read. Fans of “Gone Girl” and “Girl on the Train” will thoroughly enjoy this suspenseful and twisty tale with its tormented protagonist and plenty of other psychologically crippled characters. 45

stef and cam

10 out of 105 star

I was not expecting the ending!! 55

Brunetta4u

WOW!!5 star

Could not put this down! Very well written! The events just flowed until it all swirled together for the big plot twist shocker at the end. 55

CpagittLee

Wow5 star

Never saw that ending coming! 55

deckelb

Horrible1 star

I do not understand the glowing reviews this book has received. I forced myself to finish, thinking there must be some justification, but never could get truly interested. Weird characters and too much tedious, unnecessary detail throughout. 15

Xan.dra

Thrilling page turner5 star

I could not get enough of this book! It was one of those fighting-sleep-to-keep-turning-the-next-page kind of books. And somehow you were bound to find yet another twist in the plot the further you went on. Looking forward to more titles by this author. 55

juliofem

A must read5 star

I read a lot of crime thriller novels, and this is the most interesting one I’ve read in years. I kept predicting outcomes only to be shocked by a plot twist or revelation. I love that the story expands into a satisfying ending, most books leave a vague cliffhanger, but The silent patient summed up important storylines while leaving some things to the imagination. Such a clever and enthralling story. 55

Knit Nammy

Best ending ever!5 star

This is a page turner. I burned through this book in a day & a half. If you think you know how this book ends, you don’t. One of the best surprise endings of any book I’ve read, and I’m a very avid reader. This is his FIRST novel? He writes like an old pro. I can’t wait for his next book. 55

Pkvan1

READ THIS BOOK!5 star

I read this book straight through! I am the person who always has a book with her...you know the one-she reads at parties, on the bus, waiting in line? Yup that’s me,but it’s been a few years since I’ve come across a book I could not put down! This is that book. It kept me on the edge of my seat! Usually I have thrillers figured out half way through the book but this one totally blew my mind 🤯🤯🤯 READ THIS BOOK! 55

AmyAmyAmy1985

EXCELLENT book5 star

I couldn’t put it down. Very well written. 55

Compatible with iPad mini?

Best book I’ve ever read!!5 star

This was such an amazing book!! I usually have trouble staying concentrated while reading but I couldn’t put this book down!! I always looked forward to the next time I could read because it was so suspenseful. An amazing and shocking ending that I STILL can’t get over. So so so good I would highly recommend!!!! 55

ashli611

LOVED5 star

Kept me on my toes the entire time! Loved it. 55

Frenchy Girl 2016

Brilliant5 star

I am rarely shocked as to who the villian really is but this was an excellent read and complete shock at the end!! 55

daniix64

Amazing5 star

Loved it from start to finish!! 55

MySunshineBook

Kept me interested4 star

I felt every character deeply. 45

evelyn po

Omg!!!!5 star

I am a huge bookworm and this book was by far my favorite. I am still left puzzled and in awe. I couldn’t put it down. I can’t believe that this is the writers first novel. Masterpiece. 55

Renee_06!

AMAZING!!!5 star

A must read!!! The twists and turns kept me enthralled until the very end! 55


The Silent Patient Book Discussions


Other Alex Michaelides Books

The Silent Patient

$13.99

The Silent Patient

4.5     4292
Dans son silence

$16.99

Dans son silence

3.5     6
La paziente silenziosa

$10.99

La paziente silenziosa

0     0

The Silent Patient Similar Books

Gone Girl book cover

Gone Girl

4     12374