The House at Riverton

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they—and Grace—know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets—some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Kate Morton’s first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters—and an ending—readers won't soon forget.


The House at Riverton - Kate Morton Summary

The House at Riverton is the first novel by the Australian author Kate Morton, published in the United Kingdom by Pan Macmillan in June 2007. It was selected as a "Summer Read" by the Richard & Judy Book Club, and was featured on Channel 4's Richard & Judy Show on Wednesday 18 July 2007. Subsequently, it was the 2007 winner of the Summer Read shortlist. It was also chosen for the First Look Book Club on Barnes & Noble before its release in the United States. An edition of the book was published by Allen & Unwin under the title of The Shifting Fog. It sold 63,218 copies in its first week of release in the United Kingdom...


Do you love The House at Riverton book? Please share!

The House at Riverton - Kate Morton Book Reviews (396)

The House at Riverton book reviews are being updated..



The House at Riverton Book Discussions


Other Kate Morton Books

The Secret Keeper

$12.99

The Secret Keeper

4.5     964
The Lake House

$12.99

The Lake House

4.5     465
The Forgotten Garden

$12.99

The Forgotten Garden

4.5     925
The House at Riverton

$12.99

The House at Riverton

4.5     396

The House at Riverton Similar Books

The Help book cover

The Help

4.5     41169
The Lake House image

The Lake House

4.5     465
The Secret Keeper image

The Secret Keeper

4.5     964
The Forgotten Garden image

The Forgotten Garden

4.5     925