The House at Riverton

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they—and Grace—know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets—some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Kate Morton’s first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters—and an ending—readers won't soon forget.


The House at Riverton - Kate Morton Summary

The House at Riverton is the first novel by the Australian author Kate Morton, published in the United Kingdom by Pan Macmillan in June 2007. It was selected as a "Summer Read" by the Richard & Judy Book Club, and was featured on Channel 4's Richard & Judy Show on Wednesday 18 July 2007. Subsequently, it was the 2007 winner of the Summer Read shortlist. It was also chosen for the First Look Book Club on Barnes & Noble before its release in the United States. An edition of the book was published by Allen & Unwin under the title of The Shifting Fog. It sold 63,218 copies in its first week of release in the United Kingdom...


Do you love The House at Riverton book? Please share!

The House at Riverton - Kate Morton Book Reviews (378)

Dstiles59

Great book!5 star

Loved this book. Great plot. Quick read. Definitely recommend this book and author. 55

Ivy417

Ok read3 star

This story covers a very fascinating time era which the author does well to describe in thorough detail. That was my favorite part of the book. The storyline was, in my opinion, rather choppy and perhaps a little too obvious. I felt myself wanting to finish this book to find out the ending, rather than finishing the book because I was enjoying reading it. 35

mmeier87

Downton Abbey-like5 star

My mother recommended this book to me after we both read The Distant Hours (fantastic as well). A lot of the storyline in this book reminds me of the UK Downton Abbey series (which I love). I recommend The House at Riverton! 55

Sdbcruise

The house at riverton5 star

An amazingly wonderful read....beautifully woven and immensely entertaining!!! The characters and plot are vivid and engrossing!!! Love the period and this was even better than downtown abbey! A must read for the "upstairs/downstairs" fans but weaves in agatha Christie and tons of intrigue! WOW!! 55

Jennifer Lyn King

A Captivating and Page-Turning Read -- Highly Recommended5 star

A story of love and mystery and the secrets held over time, THE HOUSE AT RIVERTON captivated me with its lush twists and tucks in the story. Told in 1999 by Grace Bradley, one-time housemaid at the Riverton Estate in England, the story she tells is of the family she cared for, of sisters Hannah and Emmeline, and of the vast and sweeping secrets she helped them to keep. With full-bodied characters flawed over time and hardships, the sweeping story Grace tells leads the reader to a highly impactful ending. Kate Morton's beautiful style of telling the story is enchanting, and keeps the reader turning pages ever more urgently as the novel draws to a close. I appreciated Ms. Morton's adept telling of the story through the eyes of Grace, and of the complex world she reflects upon from her youth. It is important not to flip to the end and spoil the story ... I was blown away by the ending, yet it all made perfect sense. A brilliant, luminous read, highly recommended for readers who enjoy literary mystery woven with a impactful love story, with historical and contemporary elements. One of my all-time favorite novels. 55

Pjv-M

The House at Riverton5 star

Loved the book. Loved the characters. I'm sorry to have finished it! 55


The House at Riverton Book Discussions


Other Kate Morton Books

The Secret Keeper

$12.99

The Secret Keeper

4.5     935
The Lake House

$12.99

The Lake House

4.5     435
The Forgotten Garden

$12.99

The Forgotten Garden

4.5     898
The House at Riverton

$12.99

The House at Riverton

4     378

The House at Riverton Similar Books